A Community Choice School, according to 20-11-103, MCA is a tuition-free, public school open to all students in the state that has autonomy over school governing decisions including, but not limited to, matters concerning finance, personnel, scheduling, curriculum, and instruction as defined in its contract with the Community Choice School Commission. 

Choice Schools are governed by independently selected school boards that must hold an election within three years of operating under a contract with the Community Choice School Commission. Choice Schools are established and operated under the terms of the contract and allow parents to choose to enroll their children. Community Choice Schools must admit students based on a lottery if more students apply for admission than can be accommodated on their campus.

Commission Meetings and Agendas
The Commission encourages the public to join and participate in the meeting with comments or questions, click here for meeting informationThe legislation authorized the establishment of Community Choice Schools with an autonomous state Community Choice School Commission under the general supervision of the Board of Public Education (BPE). The Choice Commission is administratively attached to the BPE.

Commission Members:

Two members appointed by the Governor: 
- Trish Schreiber, Chair, Helmville, MT email
Cathy Kincheloe, Whitefish, MT email

One member appointed by the Superintendent of Public Instruction:  
- Jon Rutt, Laurel, MT email

One member appointed by the President of the Senate:
- Dee Brown, Hungry Horse, MT email 

One member appointed by the Speaker of the House: 
Mark Hufstetler, Kalispell, MT email

One member appointed by the Minority Leader of the Senate: 
Dr. Katey Franklin, Bozeman, MT email

One member appointed by the Minority Leader of the House of Representatives: 
Katy Wright, Helena, MT email

Due to a lawsuit against the State of Montana, the Commission may not accept or review any Community Choice School applications at this time.

If you have questions, please reach out to Christy Mock-Stutz, Assistant Superintendent, 406-444-5658