The mission of the Montana Teacher of the Year Program is to elevate student success by empowering classroom innovation and enhancing pathways to teacher leadership. 



A+ The TOY Program elevates student success by celebrating teachers who honor individual student strengths and each child’s unique abilities.


A+ The TOY Program empowers classroom innovation by recognizing teachers who are responsive to the complex realities that define Montana’s diverse and unique classrooms across the state.


A+ The TOY Program enhances pathways to teacher leadership by creating teacher ambassadors at the local, state, and national level to connect classrooms to the community.

MontanaTeacher of the Year logo

2022 Montana Teacher of the Year

2022 Teacher of the Year
William Stockton of Arlee


2022 Teacher of the Year, Willliam Stockton of Arlee, MTHello everyone, my name is Bill Stockton. This is my 14th year teaching and my 12th year teaching at Arlee High School. I love teaching science, engaging my students in critical thinking, and creating lifelong learners. I really have enjoyed my time at AHS. I'm really honored to be recognized as the 2022 teacher of the year. There's been a lot of great teachers in my life, and I owe this to them.   

My education started with growing up in central Idaho. After graduating high school, I moved to Montana to attend the University of Montana in Missoula. I received a BA in Biology from the University of Montana and then later a MS in Science Education from Montana State University. Recently I was a recipient of the 2020 Teresa Veltkamp Advocacy Award for Excellence in Indian Education for All, from Montana's Office of Public Instruction. 

Along with teaching at Arlee High School, I have taught five years for Montana Digital Academy and have been actively engaged in teacher professional development.

When I am not teaching, I enjoy exploring Montana while camping, boating, and hiking. I also enjoy sports, playing video games, going to concerts, and spending time with my family and friends.



2022 Teacher of the Year Ceremony


2022 Teacher of the Year Ceremony



2022 Montana Teacher
of the Year Finalists

Past Montana Teachers of the Year

2021 Teacher of the Year
Kristi Borge of Polaris





2020 Teacher of the Year
Linda Rost of Baker





2019 Teacher of the Year
Dylan Huisken of Bonner




2023 Montana Teacher of
the Year Nomination Form

2023 Program Timeline


  • February 1, 2022 - Nomination and application window opens
  • May 13, 2022 - Nominations due
  • June 24, 2022 - Applications due to
  • July-August 2022 Applications reviewed by committees
  • Mid-September 2022 - Finalists selected by state committee
  • Mid-September 2022 - Finalists interviewed by state committee, MT TOY selected
  • October 2022 - National Teacher of the Year Application Due to CCSSO
  • February 2023 - MT TOY begins duties and NTOY activities