Board of Regents

The governance and administration of the Montana University System is vested with the Board of Regents, which has full power, responsibility, and authority to supervise, coordinate, manage and control the Montana University System, and supervise and coordinate other public educational institutions assigned by law.

The Board consists of seven members appointed by the Governor, and confirmed by the Senate, to seven year overlapping terms.  One of the members of the board shall be a student appointed by the Governor who is registered full-time at a unit of higher education under jurisdiction of the board.  The length of the term of the student member is one year with possibility of reappointment to successive terms.  (See Student Regent Appointment Profile for more information.)

The Governor, Superintendent of Public Instruction, and the Commissioner of Higher Education are ex-officio members of the Board.