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M 
any know that Montana was the last state in the country to adopt 
Graduated Driver Licensing (GDL) to give teen drivers time to develop 
crucial driving skills and experience. But did you know that it took four 

consecutive legislative sessions before it became law?  Starting in 1999, then in 2001, 
2003 (when it passed, but was vetoed by Gov. Judy Martz), and finally in 2005 the bill 
passed and was signed into law by Gov. Brian Schweitzer. 

So, we tip our collective hats to GDL 
champion Sen. Kim Gillan (D-Billings) 
who served in the Montana State 
Legislature from 1996 to 2012, and 
steadfastly introduced every GDL bill. 
Thanks to her efforts and the support of 
numerous organizations and individuals, 
state law now requires young drivers to 
gain driving skills with supervised 

practice before they enter the high-risk period of solo driving. Ten years after GDL 
went into effect, there is a marked decrease in teen crash fatalities and injuries, as 
shown by the chart below and a chart on page 2 showing crash data by age. 

Implemented in 2006, Montana’s GDL has led to a 35% decrease in total teen crashes 
and a 59% decrease in serious injuries of 14-18 year olds during the period of 2005-
2014.* Integrating driver education and parent-supervised practice helps teens 
develop driving skills, safe habits and crucial behind-the-wheel experience. While the 
number of teen crashes has declined, some mistakes continue to have serious and 
fatal consequences, especially driving off the road and not wearing seat belts. 

Distracted driving education was also added as a component of Montana’s GDL, with 
the recognition that there are many things that shift our focus away from driving, 
along with using cell phones and other hand-held devices. The OPI’s Traffic Education 
Office provides resources for distracted driving awareness and includes distracted 
driving curriculum and other educational materials for use in the classroom.  

GDL—THREE SIMPLE STEPS 
1. Learner License – Log 50 hours of supervised 

practice with 10 hours at night for a minimum of 6 
months, and no alcohol, drug or traffic citations.

2. GDL Restricted License – Allows solo driving; one-
year restrictions include curfew, limiting 
passengers, and no alcohol, drug or traffic citations.

3. Full Driver License – After one year on the restricted 
license. 

Download the GDL Parents Fact Sheet and Teen Driver Log

THE LAW: Montana’s GDL went into 

effect on July 1, 2006 

The purpose of Montana’s GDL is to “create a 

graduated driver's licensing program that will 

allow persons under 18 years of age to 

progressively develop and improve their 

driving skills in the safest possible 

environment and that will improve highway 

safety by reducing the disproportionately high 

incidence of motor vehicle accidents involving 

minors.”  MCA 61-5-131  

Education on distracted driving.  
(1) The department, in consultation with the

superintendent of public instruction, shall

encourage schools providing traffic education

to include in their traffic education curriculum

information regarding the dangers of physical

and cognitive distractions while driving.

(2) To reduce the risks for novice drivers, the

department shall include in its publications

intended for novice drivers information

concerning the dangers of physical and

cognitive distractions while driving, including

but not limited to mental inattentiveness

because of stress, fatigue, heightened

emotion, conversation with passengers,

stereo or climate control adjustment, food and

drink, use of electronic devices, and personal

grooming.  MCA 61-5-135

* Source: Montana Department of Transportation state and county young driver
data: http://www.mdt.mt.gov/publications/datastats/crashdata.shtml 

http://www.mdt.mt.gov/publications/datastats/crashdata.shtml



