MONTANA
WORK-BASED LEARNING

Mpyth vs. Fact

Montana has one of the strongest economies in the nation. At the same time, thousands of jobs go unfilled
as Montana businesses struggle to find qualified candidates with the right skills. This document
addresses common concerns and perceived barriers to hiring youth in the workplace.

MYTH vs. FACT

MYTH: | can’t work with minors. Employees must be at least 18 years old.

FACT: At 16 years of age, youth may be employed in any occupation other than one declared to be hazardous* (*Some “hazardous”
occupations have a Student Learner or Registered Apprenticeship exemption - 41-2-110 MCA - see back page). There are no hour restrictions

on workers 16 years or older. A variety of jobs can be performed by minors ages 14 and 15 including additional occupations as part of a career
work experience or career exploration program. For more detailed information (including exemptions and restricted hours) refer to Montana’s Child
Labor Law Reference Guide.

MYTH: My Workers’ Compensation rates will change if | work with minors.

FACT: Workers’ Compensation covers every employee equally, regardless of age. Workers’ Compensation premium is calculated based on
payroll, type of work, and experience of the employer. Age and years of experience of workers are not used to calculate the cost of a workers’
compensation policy, nor the payout of claims. As a result, actual costs are low for hiring work-based learning (WBL) students and existing
protections are sufficient.

Unpaid internships also allow students to gain work experience without being considered an “employee” if they are primarily on site to learn and
receive no direct compensation from the company. In such cases, commercial liability insurance for private employers and high-risk accident
insurance for school districts protect students and employers. However, to classify a student as an “unpaid intern,” rather than a paid employee,
specific criteria cited by the federal Fair Labor Standards Act (FLSA) must be met. See USDOL Fact Sheet 71 for a list of those criteria.

MYTH: Human Resources says we can’t even bring minors on the floor of our facility!

FACT: Company policy may be the only real barrier to engaging with the most talented and qualified students. There are many ways to ensure
quality and safe learning experiences that create a stronger workforce pipeline for your company:

e Partner with a third party, a nonprofit and/or school district to hire and train minors while they're still in high school.

» Work with students who have completed substantial safety and training courses in your industry and/or obtained a recognized industry
certification. Partnering with Career & Technical Education (CTE) programs are one way to identify these students.

 Create an internship/part-time position to expose students to various roles and departments or have them complete a project.
¢ Draft a contract that defines your company’s responsibility for non-employees, like unpaid interns.

» Add Volunteer Workers’ Compensation to coverage already in place to protect non-employees (interns, job shadow students, or tour groups).
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MYTH: Schools won’t allow students to work during regular business hours.

FACT: Students aged 16 and 17 may work any time of the day or night, regardless of school hours, as long as restrictions on the number of
daily and weekly hours are followed. Through competency-based education, project-based learning, career and technical education (CTE), and
concurrent enroliment schools are providing more flexible scheduling that helps to personalize a student’s learning experiences and can be used
for work-based learning experiences.

MYTH: Youth workers are free labor.

FACT: Work-based learning is a way for businesses to contribute to both the development of future talent and to forming an appropriately
skilled workforce. Internships can be either paid or unpaid. For further guidance on unpaid internships, please reference USDOL Fact Sheet 71.
Pre-Apprenticeships may be paid or unpaid. Apprenticeships and Youth Apprenticeships are paid training experiences that provide a higher return
on investment for employers. Apprentices are considered employees and workers comp coverage will be required.

MYTH: My industry/workplace is too dangerous for minors.

FACT: Under state and federal law there are only a few “hazardous” occupations prohibited for minors who are 16 and older. This leaves many
occupations where youth can work without restriction. In most cases, OSHA requirements ensure you're already protecting your employees to the
same extent you'd need to protect a minor. There are many roles young people can fill to give them beneficial exposure to your workplace, provide
your business with value, and spark an interest in long-term employment in your industry.

With safety, proper training, and supervision in mind, youth who are 16 or 17 years old may work in any hazardous occupation listed below with a
Student Learner or Registered Apprenticeship exemption. After completion of student-learner training outlined in this section, a minor who is 16 or

17 years old may be employed in the occupation.

Student Learners participating in hazardous occupations
with an Apprentice or Student-Learner exemption
(41-2-110 MCA) must meet the following criteria:

e At least 16 years old
e For an apprentice:
 The work is incidental to the minor’s training

¢ The work is intermittent, for short periods of time, and under direct
and close supervision of a journeyman as a necessary part of the
apprentice training

 The position is registered through DLI Montana Registered
Apprenticeship Program

¢ For a Student Learner:

e Is enrolled in a course of study and training in a cooperative
technical training program under a recognized state or local
educational authority or in a course of study in a substantially
similar program conducted by a private school

e The student-learner is employed under a written agreement,
providing that all the following are met:

— The work of the student-learner is incidental to the student-
learner’s training

— The work is intermittent, for short periods of time, and under
the direct and close supervision of a qualified and experienced
person

— Safety instruction is given by the school and correlated by the
employer with on-the-job training

— A schedule of organized and progressive work processes to be
performed on the job has been prepared

— The written agreement contains the name of the student-learner
and is signed by the employer and the school coordinator or
principal; and copies of each agreement are kept on file both by
the educational authority or school and by the employer

The Montana Department of Labor & Industry can revoke if the department finds that
reasonable precautions have not been observed for the safety of minors employed

under the exemption.

HAZARDOUS OCCUPATIONS WITH STUDENT
LEARNER EXEMPTIONS

* Logging and the operation of a sawmill, lath mill, or shingle mill
¢ Power-driven woodworking machines
* The operation of a power-driven paper products machine

* Power-driven metal forming, punching, and shearing machine
*Does not apply to machine tools which can be used by minors
16 and older. For a complete list of approved machine tools -
milling, turning, planing, grinding, and boring function machines
please see Federal Child Labor 101 guide

* Power-driven meat-processing machines, slaughtering and meat
packing plants

* Power-driven circular saws, band saws, guillotine shears, chain
saws, reciprocating saws, wood chippers, and abrasive cutting
discs

¢ Trenching and excavation operation
* Roofing operations and work performed on or about a roof

PROHIBITED HAZARDOUS OCCUPATIONS
e Manufacturing and storing of explosives

¢ Motor-vehicle driving and outside helper on a motor vehicle
*Exception for 17 y/o - for details see Federal Child Labor
101 guide

¢ Coal mining
e Qccupations in forest fire fighting, forest fire prevention, timber
¢ Mining, other than coal mining

* Power-driven bakery machines including vertical dough or
batter mixers

* Manufacturing bricks, tile, and kindred products

e Wrecking, demolition, and shipbreaking operations
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