

EDUCATION & WORKFORCE DATA GOVERNING BOARD

BOARD MEMBERS (Voting) MISTY ANN GILES, Chair SUSAN DICKEY ROB STUTZ SARAH SWANSON TYLER TREVOR BOARD MEMBERS (Non-voting) AMY CARLSON KEVIN GILBERTSON ANGUS MACIVER PAD MCCRACKEN **BOARD STAFF**JEREMY HENRY

Data Governance & Policy Work Group Meeting Agenda

Location: DOA DIR RM 161 or Teams Friday April 12, 2024, 9 a.m.

1. Open Meeting / Welcome

Jeremy Henry, DOA

- a. Call to Order and Notice of Audio / Video Recording
- b. Introduction & Roll Call

2. Work Group Responsibilities

Jeremy Henry, DOA

- a. <u>Develop policies</u> ... for the linking and sharing of education and workforce data among the contributing agencies to effectuate the purposes of [sections 1 through 3], including policies and procedures <u>describing</u>:
 - i. The specific types of educational and workforce data that must be shared by the contributing agencies.
 - ii. The manner in which personally identifiable information is secured;
 - iii. Appropriate use;
 - iv. Allowable access by contributing agencies and other entities.
- f. Develop and implement policies and procedures regarding data and research requests;
- g. Develop and make available a model data-sharing agreement that allows for the reciprocal sharing of information between public schools, public, private, or tribal institutions of higher education, and state and local workforce entities; and
- h. Develop and implement policies:
 - i. To ensure compliance with the Family Educational Rights and Privacy Act of 1974, 20 U.S.C. 1231g, as amended and its implementing regulations at 34 CFR, part 99, and all other relevant federal and state privacy laws; AND
 - ii. TO PROVIDE FOR ADDITIONAL PRIVACY PROTECTIONS DETERMINED TO BE NECESSARY BY THE BOARD.

3. Relevant Laws & Statutes

Work Group Discussion

• Ex., FERPA, HIPPA, WIOA

4. Next Steps

Work Group Discussion

- Master Data Exchange Agreement and/or Memorandum of Understanding
- Website
- 5. Adjourn

*This agenda is subject to modification up to 24 hours in advance of the start of the meeting.

Work Group Members:

Department of Administration: Misty Giles, mistyann.giles@mt.gov

Department of Administration: **Adam Carpenter**, <u>adam.carpenter@mt.gov</u> Department of Administration: **Sarah Bartow**, <u>sarah.bartow@mt.gov</u>

Department of Administration: Therese Simpson, therese.simpson2@mt.gov

Office Commission of Higher Education: John Thunstrom, <u>JThunstrom@mso.umt.edu</u>

Board of Public Education: McCall Flynn, MFlynn@mt.gov

Legislative Services Division: Laura Sankey-Keip, Laura.SankeyKeip@legmt.gov

Legislative Fiscal Division: **Amy Carlson**, <u>ACarlson@mt.gov</u>
Legislative Audit Division: **Miki Cestnik**, <u>Miki.Cestnik@legmt.gov</u>
Office of Public Instruction: **Ashley Perez**, <u>ashley.perez@mt.gov</u>

Office of Public Instruction: Rob Stutz, rob.stutz@mt.gov

Legislative Services Division: **Pad McCracken**, <u>Pad.McCracken@legmt.gov</u> Department of Labor and Industry: **Quinlan O'Connor**, <u>ce0135@mt.gov</u>