The Student Support Services Department supports schools and communities through programs designed to promote health, increase safety, and improve nutrition in Montana schools. This Division provides resources designed to prevent major health problems and health-risk behaviors among youth and to help Montana students reach their full potential.

  • Jessie Counts, Student Support Services Manager, (406) 444-4706, Jessica.Counts@mt.gov
  • Leona Wetherall, Student Support Services Administrative Assistant, (406) 444-0751, lwetherall@mt.gov
  • Jenifer Cline, Special Education Director, (406) 444-4426, jenifer.cline@mt.gov
  • Holly Mook, Coordinated School Health Unit Director, (406) 444-0773, hmook2@mt.gov
  • Chris Emerson, School Nutrition Programs Director, (406) 444-2502, cemerson@mt.gov
  • Camille Biazzo, School Nutrition Programs Assistant Director, (406) 444-4415, camille.biazzo@mt.gov

  • DYSLEXIA: Resources for Local Educational Agencies (LEAs) related to dyslexia.
  • HEALTH ENHANCEMENT Supports  Local Educational Agencies (LEAs) related to resources, assistance, and curricular materials on Physical and Health Education. 
  • SCHOOL NUTRITION PROGRAMS: The School Nutrition Programs unit administers eight U.S. Department of Agriculture (USDA) Child Nutrition Programs that reimburse schools and distribute USDA foods for meals served to children, teaches workshops for school personnel, ensures that schools implement federal regulations, and provides nutrition education for students. 
  • SUICIDE PREVENTION: Supports Local Educational Agencies (LEAs) in Montana related to youth suicide awareness and prevention. 
  • 21ST CENTURY COMMUNITY LEARNING CENTERS: Supports Grant Awarded Local Educational Agencies (LEAs) and community-based organizations that supports academic enrichment during non-school hours in a community learning center environment.