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INTRODUCTION 
The Adapted Illustrated Montana Driver Manual is designed to help new driver 
license applicants understand and remember information that is required to get and 
keep a Montana driver license. It is also intended to help new drivers understand and 
respect traffic laws and safety rules.  

This version of the Adapted Illustrated Driver Manual is based on the 2015 Montana 
Driver Manual published and distributed by the Motor Vehicle Division of the 
Montana Department of Justice. The Adapted Manual is organized and presented in 
a clear and easy-to-read format with graphics and images.  

First published in 1971, the Adapted Manual has been updated and republished four 
times, including this 2016 edition. The electronic version can be downloaded at 
http://opi.mt.gov/drivered. At this website you will also have access to the audio 
version recorded by the Montana Talking Book Library. 

In addition to helping new drivers learn the rules of the road and pass the test for a 
Montana driver license, the Adapted Illustrated Montana Driver Manual encourages 
driving without distraction and impairment, sharing the road safely and respectfully, 
and always buckling up.   

Arrive alive and be a safe driver—for life. 
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Chapter 1 - The Driver License 
Most drivers who get into trouble while driving a vehicle don’t understand their 
license or legal responsibilities. 

GETTING A DRIVER LICENSE 
Anyone who operates a motor vehicle or motor-driven cycle on public roadways in 
Montana is required to have a driver license.  

• Any new driver under the age of 18 must get a learner license and drive
supervised for at least six months before they can get a one-year restricted
license.

• If you are under the age of 16, you must first successfully complete a state-
approved driver education course and complete Step 1 of the Graduated Driver
Licensing (GDL) law (see page 5), which requires driving supervised for at least
six months with a Traffic Education Learner License (TELL) before receiving a
one-year restricted license.

• New Montana residents must apply to get a Montana driver license within 60
days. Drivers with commercial licenses have 30 days.

• Vehicle insurance is required in Montana. Proof of vehicle liability insurance
must be in effect and available to show law enforcement whenever you drive.

     This license is issued 
to drivers who are  

 15 to 20 years old. 

This license 
is issued to 
drivers who 
are at least 

21 years 
old. 
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When a driver is under 18 years old, 
who is financially responsible for  
the cost of damages in a crash? 
When the driver is under 18, a parent or other 
responsible adult must sign the driver license application and have it notarized or 
witnessed by a driver license exam office employee. This means that the parent or 
guardian agrees to pay the cost of damages if the driver crashes their vehicle. 

TYPES OF DRIVER LICENSES 

Class D Basic Driver License 
Most drivers hold a CLASS D license.  To obtain your driver license you need to pass 
the vision, knowledge and driving skills tests. Drivers with a CLASS D license may 
drive any non-commercial vehicle that weighs less than 26,000 pounds. 

Commercial Driver License 
The Commercial Driver License Manual is a 
study guide to help beginning truck and bus 
drivers qualify for a commercial driver license 
(CDL). To obtain a commercial license you will 
need to pass the vision and knowledge tests as 
well as a driving skills test in the size of vehicle 
you wish to drive and meet other requirements 
listed in the CDL Manual.  

You can download it here: https://dojmt.gov/driving/commercial-driver-licensing/. 
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REQUIRED DRIVER LICENSE TESTS 
You must pass both the vision and written tests before getting a learner license. A 
learner license allows you to practice driving with a licensed adult driver on public 
roads and highways.  

• Vision Test: You must see well enough to drive. If
you need glasses or corrective lenses to pass, you
will be required to wear them while driving.

• Written Test: This test shows how much you know
about safe driving, traffic laws, rules and signs.
Study the Montana Driver Manual and take the
sample tests to prepare for the knowledge test.

Driver education and practicing with the learner license 
begin the process of learning to drive, but many, many 
hours of actual driving are needed to become a safe 
driver.  

Driving Test: The driving test shows how well you can 
control your car and obey traffic signs, lights, speeds and 
laws. You will be tested on turning, changing lanes, stopping, parking and proper use 
of turn signals and seat belts. Drivers under the age of 18 need to take the Driving 
Test to get their GDL Restricted License.  

Before you take your driving test, you must show your vehicle registration and proof 
of vehicle liability insurance.  

Your vehicle must be safe and have: 

• Working headlights, tail lights, brake lights and turn signals.

• Seat belts and mirrors.

• Clean windshield without cracks where the driver needs to see.

• Doors that open and close properly.

If your car is unsafe, you may not take the driving test. Driver license receipts are 
good for one year and three test attempts are permitted within that one-year period. 
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GRADUATED DRIVER LICENSING 
Montana Graduated Driver Licensing (GDL) is a 3-step program to reduce risk and 
help teen drivers gain driving experience.  All new drivers under age 18 must follow 
these conditions to get a driver license in Montana.

 

THE GDL STEPS 
1. LEARNER LICENSE

• Pass the written test.

• Drive with adult supervision:
50 hours (10 hours at night) for
at least 6 months.

• NO alcohol, drugs or traffic tickets.

• MUST WEAR SEAT BELT.

2. GDL RESTRICTED LICENSE
• Limits passengers and night driving.

• NO alcohol, drugs or traffic tickets.

• MUST WEAR SEAT BELT.

3. FULL DRIVER LICENSE
• After one year on the GDL

Restricted License with NO alcohol,
drugs or traffic violations. The risk of a fatal crash goes up in direct 

relation to the number of teens in the car. 
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DRIVER EXAM APPOINTMENTS 
• Study the Montana Driver Manual.

• Make an appointment at your Driver
Exam Station.

• Fill out the license application form
(if you do not already have your learner
license).

BRING WITH YOU: 
• Two forms of identification: your

original birth certificate—or a certified
copy, not your hospital birth
certificate—and a second ID.  (See
Chapter 1 in the Montana Driver
Manual for identification documents
accepted.)

• A piece of mail showing your name
and street address.

• Proof of residency and authorized
presence: proof that you are either
a U.S. citizen or legally authorized to
be in the United States.

• Your Social Security card.

• Your eyeglasses or contacts, if you
wear them.

Be prepared to pay the driver license fee, 
currently $67.47 for an 8-year license 
with REAL ID or $62.32 for a 12-year 
standard license. Motorcycle 
endorsement fees are $0.50 per year. 

Find your 
Driver Exam 

Station 
ON THE INTERNET: 

http://www.dojmt.gov/
driving/appointments 

ON THE PHONE: 
(406) 444-1772

MAKE AN APPOINTMENT 
SO YOU WON’T HAVE TO 

WAIT IN LINE. 
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USING YOUR LICENSE
• You must have your license with you when you drive and you must give it to

law enforcement if they ask for it.

• Only a licensed driver may drive your car. The driver and the owner of the car
may be arrested if an unlicensed driver is allowed to drive it.

• You must not let another person use your driver license.

• You may have only one valid driver license at any time.

• Your driving record starts with your first driver license. All the information on
your driving record is part of your permanent driving record. From year to year
and in all states, your driving record is for life.

• Address changes must be reported within 10 days to the Driver
License Bureau or Motor Vehicle Division. Legal name changes
also need to be reported.

• If your license is lost or destroyed, report it to the police. Go to the driver
licensing bureau and apply for a duplicate. An original or certified copy of your
birth certificate and $10.30 fee is required for a replacement license.

RENEWING YOUR LICENSE 
• Your first driver license is good until your 21st birthday.

• If you are 21 years of age or older when you obtain
your first license, it will be good for twelve (12) years
from your last birthday or eight (8) years with REAL ID.

• You may renew up to six months before the expiration
date of your driver license. Your driver license expires
on your birthday.

• If you do not renew your license within three months
after your birthday, you must take and pass the
written and driving tests again.

• If you drive after your birthday with an expired license, you are driving in
violation of the law and can be ticketed.

If your birthday 
passes by and you 
did not renew your 
license before it 
expired, you must 
stop driving until it 
is renewed. 
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MOTORCYCLES  
Motorcycle Learner License 
A regular learner license is not valid for the operation 
of a motorcycle. Motorcycle-only learner licenses 
require special testing and supervision. Motorcycle-
only licenses limit drivers to motorcycles or motor 
scooters. 

Motorcycle Endorsement 

• Persons who ride motorcycles or motor-driven cycles must have a Montana
driver license before getting a motorcycle endorsement.

• Montana law requires motorcycle drivers under 18 years of age to wear a
motorcycle helmet.

• Motorcycle riders must obey all road, traffic signs and rules.

• Driving a motorcycle is dangerous and requires different skills than driving a
car. Most motorcycle crashes happen because of the rider’s error.

• In most car/motorcycle crashes, the car driver
does not see the motorcycle.

To get a motorcycle endorsement, study the Motorcycle 
Supplement to learn how to safely operate a motorcycle 
or scooter on Montana roads. 

• Take the motorcycle written test and vision test.

• Take a driving test or successfully complete a
Montana Motorcycle Safety Foundation course.
Learn more at http://motorcycle.msun.edu or
call 800-922-BIKE.

• Pay a $0.50 annual fee.

Use your head!  
Put a helmet on! 
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VEHICLE LIABILITY INSURANCE 
Liability insurance is required by law (except for 
motorcycles). Owners must always have insurance of 
at least: 

• $25,000 - Bodily Injury or Death of one person
in any one accident

• $50,000 - Bodily Injury or Death of two persons
in any one accident

• $10,000 - Injury to or destruction of property of others in any one accident

This insurance must be in effect and in the vehicle at all times. 

Driving a vehicle on Montana roads without a valid liability insurance policy is against 
the law and shows up on your driving record. People who do not have vehicle 
insurance can be ticketed, fined or sent to jail if they continue to break the law. 

VEHICLE REGISTRATION AND LICENSE PLATES 
Montana law requires that all vehicles 
have license plates and be registered. 
Every motor vehicle must have license 
plates on the front and back of the 
vehicle.  

You must carry your registration and 
proof of liability insurance in your 
vehicle at all times. 

Vehicle registration is good for one year. When vehicles are bought or sold, new 
registration is required. 

Under Montana law, drivers stopped for a traffic violation or involved in a collision 
MUST show law enforcement they have insurance. And they will be asked to show 
their driver license and vehicle registration.  
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CHAPTER 1 QUIZ – THE DRIVER LICENSE 
Directions: Choose only one answer. 

1. Many drivers get into serious trouble while driving a vehicle because they:
A. Forget to carry their license while driving.
B. Do not understand or inform themselves about the legal responsibilities

of having a driver license.
C. Do not show their license when stopped by police.
D. Use their license for identification when cashing bad checks.

2. If you move, you must report your change of address to the Driver License
Bureau within:

A. 2 weeks
B. 15 days
C. 10 days
D. 1 month

3. When signing for their child under 18 years of age, parents are saying that:
A. Their child passed a driver’s education course.
B. Their child is a careful driver.
C. Their child’s date of birth is correct.
D. They are accepting financial responsibility for any damage that results

from the minor operating a motor vehicle.

4. What is the earliest a Montana Driver license can be renewed prior to the
license expiration date?

A. 3 months
B. 6 months
C. 9 months
D. 12 months
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5. When you go to take your driver licensing tests, you:
A. Must have your birth certificate (an original or certified copy).
B. Do not need any identification.
C. Must go with your driver education teacher.
D. Need to have fire and theft insurance.

6. If you want to take the driving test and your car is not safe, you:
A. May not take the driving test.
B. May take the test and get the trouble repaired later.
C. May borrow a driver education car.
D. Must go with your parent.

7. If you need to wear glasses to pass the vision test, you:
A. Will need to wear them at night.
B. Will be required to wear them while driving.
C. May wear them only when you feel like it.
D. Will need to have them in the car.

8. Before you may get a learner license you must:
A. Pass the written test.
B. Ask the doctor if you may drive.
C. Be 18 years old.
D. Have collision insurance.

9. Every driver must have proof of vehicle liability insurance:
A. If they have a crash.
B. In their vehicle when driving.
C. At home in a safe place.
D. If they hit a deer on the road.
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10. Drivers must have their vehicle registration:
A. In their vehicles.
B. At home in a safe place.
C. At the insurance company.
D. At the county courthouse.

11. When any vehicle is bought or sold, the owner must:
A. Keep the old registration for five years.
B. Get a new registration.
C. Use the old registration.
D. Renew their driver license.

12. If you want to ride a motorcycle in Montana, you:
A. Need a basic driver license.
B. Need a motorcycle endorsement.
C. Can waive the driving test if you pass a motorcycle safety course.
D. All of the above.

13. A Learner License lets a person:
A. Practice in a driver education car only.
B. Drive any time by themselves.
C. Drive only if they have a licensed driver in the front seat beside them.
D. Practice only in a parking lot.

HOW DID YOU DO?  
 Check the correct answers on page 132. 
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Chapter 2 – Motor Vehicle Equipment 
When you become a licensed driver, you are responsible for the safety of your 
passengers and other people on the road. Always make sure you are prepared and 
alert enough to drive, and your vehicle is in good shape, too. 

 Planning Your Trip

 Checking Your Vehicle

 Vehicle Equipment

 What to Know about Seat Belts

 Child Restraints and Car Seats

PLANNING YOUR TRIP 
Everyone’s safety depends on what you do before you drive. 

• Plan your trip before you go.

• Make sure you feel well enough to drive safely. Rested,
alert and calm.

• Check the tires for air pressure and tread.

• Windows are clean, and clear of snow and ice.

• Adjust the seat and mirrors.

• Check the fuel level and brakes.

• Buckle your seat belt and make sure others in the car are
buckled up.

• Check that things outside the car are put away so you
don’t run over them.

• Put away loose things inside the car. If you need to stop
quickly, loose objects could hurt someone. On the floor
they could roll under the brake pedal and keep you from
being able to stop.
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SAVE GAS AND RESOURCES 
You can save gas and make your car last longer if you: 

• Walk, ride a bicycle or a horse.

• Carpool to share rides with others going the same
way.

• Avoid driving in heavy traffic. Choose a different
route or time of day to be on the road.

• When running errands, make a list before you
leave home.

• Call ahead to make sure the place you are going
has what you need or want.

CHECKING YOUR VEHICLE 
Safe driving starts with a safe vehicle. Vehicles with mechanical problems can cause a 
crash. It costs a lot of money to have your vehicle towed and repaired. The law 
requires that vehicles must have all equipment in good working condition.  

A few simple checks before you drive will prevent trouble on the road. 

Check OUTSIDE the vehicle: 
• Walk around the back of the car before getting in.

Is there anything under or around the car?

• Are the windshield, windows and lights clean and
working?

• Do the tires have good tread and proper inflation?

Check UNDER the hood: 
• Check the oil, coolant, and windshield washer

fluid.

• Check the drive belts and hoses for cracks and
tightness.

• Know your car. Read the owner’s manual.
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CHECK INSIDE THE CAR — USE S.M.I.L.E.S. TO REMEMBER 
(Do these in order) 

S Seats and steering wheel 
M Mirrors – adjust inside and outside 
I Insert seat belts 
L Locks and lights on 
E Emergency brake 
S Secure any loose objects 

CHECK YOUR DASH WHEN STARTING AND WHILE DRIVING 
Is there enough gasoline for your trip? 

Is the brake light on? If so, 
release emergency brake. 

Check to make sure the battery 
is charging if the battery light 
stays on or the alternator 
gauge is low. 

Is the engine too hot? Move to 
a safe place off the road. Turn 
the engine off and let it cool 
down. 

STOP if the red oil light stays on. Turn the engine 
off. The engine has lost oil pressure and severe 
engine damage can occur within seconds. 

If the check engine light comes on, take your 
vehicle to a service center soon to check the 
ignition and emission controls.  

When you start your car, the dash briefly 
lights up. If any lights remain on, it’s a 
warning that your vehicle needs attention. 
Ignoring a warning light could lead to 
vehicle damage and breakdowns. 

Seat belt warnings 
remind you to 

buckle up. 
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VEHICLE EQUIPMENT 
BRAKES:  Only brakes can stop your vehicle. It is very 
dangerous if brakes stop working. Have a mechanic check the 
brakes if they make a lot of noise, smell funny or the brake 
pedal goes to the floor and doesn’t completely stop the vehicle. 

LIGHTS: Make sure all lights work.  Walk around your vehicle 
and check all lights. 

• Turn signals show other drivers you plan to turn or
change lanes. Turn signals must be visible for 300 feet in
sunlight.

• Brake lights warn other drivers you are stopping or
slowing down. Brake lights are red and must be
visible for 300 feet in sunlight.

• Tail lights show other drivers where you are on the
road. Tail lights are brighter when cars are stopping, slowing or backing up.
Tail lights must be visible for 500 feet.

• License plate light: A separate white light is required so the license plate can
be seen 50 feet away.

• Spotlights must be turned off when meeting or passing
other vehicles at night.

• Parking lights give you added protection at night when
parked or stopped on a road. Lights must be visible for
a distance of 500 feet to warn oncoming drivers.

• Headlights show you the road ahead and let other
drivers see you. Driving with headlights on AT ALL
TIMES is a safe habit to have. Keep headlights clean
and replace broken headlights immediately.
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Headlights must be ON from a 
half hour after sunset until a  
half hour before sunrise. 

HEADLIGHTS must show persons and vehicles on the road ahead: 

on low beam (DIM) at 100 feet. 

on high beam (BRIGHT) at 350 feet. 

Headlights must be on when it is dark and any time you cannot see 500 feet ahead 
due to blowing dust, fog, rain or snow. 

High beam headlights are useful on roads 
without street lights and on highways, but 
must be switched to low beam (dim) when 
meeting other vehicles 1,000 feet away and 
when you are 500 feet behind another 
vehicle.  

The brighter lights of high beams make it hard 
for other drivers to see the road. 
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VEHICLE LIGHT DISTANCES 

1,000 feet Dim high beam headlights when meeting oncoming vehicles 

500 feet Turn off high beam headlights when 500 feet behind other vehicles 

500 feet Turn headlights on when you can’t see 500 feet ahead 

500 feet Tail lights distance 

350 feet High beam (bright) headlight distance 

300 feet Brake light distance in sunlight 

300 feet Turn signal distance in sunlight 

100 feet Low beam (dim) headlight distance 

50 feet License plate light 

STEERING SYSTEM: When the steering is not working 
properly, it is difficult to control the direction you want to 
go. If the vehicle is hard to turn or does not turn when you 
use the steering wheel, have a mechanic check it. 

TIRES: Worn tire tread can keep you from stopping quickly and from controlling your 
vehicle properly. Hydroplaning on wet roads can cause your car to skid. See page 83 to 
learn more about hydroplaning. 

Check tire tread with a penny. Stick the penny into the 
tread head first. If the tread does not come at least to 
Abraham Lincoln’s head, the tire is unsafe and you need to 
replace it. It’s a good idea to replace all four tires at the 
same time. 

Too much or too little air pressure in tires can cause loss 
of control when driving. Check the air pressure in your 
tires weekly.  

You will save gas and your car will handle better when you 
keep the right amount of air in your tires. 
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EXHAUST SYSTEM: All vehicles must have a muffler in good 
condition to prevent excessive noise and smoke.  Muffler 
cutouts, bypasses and similar devices are not allowed. A leaky 
muffler can cause toxic exhaust to enter the vehicle, making 
you drowsy while driving. 

ENGINE: Keep your engine tuned up so it will start, get good gas mileage, and won’t 
quit working while driving. Your owner’s manual will tell you how often to have the 
engine tuned up. 

HORN:  Every vehicle must have a horn that can be heard for 200 
feet away. Know where the horn is located so you can find it when 
you need to use it. It could save your life or the life of a pedestrian. 
Use a horn only as a safety warning to others. 

WINDSHIELD & WINDSHIELD WIPERS: Every vehicle must 
have windshield wipers in good condition and in good 
working order. Keep all windows and headlights clean.  

Almost all driving decisions are based on what is seen.  
When your windshield is dirty or covered in ice, you can’t see far enough ahead to 
make good decisions about speed, lane position, traffic signs, signals, markings, and 
hazards.  

SEAT AND MIRRORS: Make sure your seat is high enough so you can clearly see the 
road. Every vehicle must have a rear-view mirror and side mirrors so the driver can 
see 200 feet behind them. Check and adjust the rearview and side mirrors before 
you drive. 

HEAD RESTRAINTS: Head restraints offer the best 
protection for your neck when adjusted for the correct 
height. They can prevent whiplash if you are hit from 
behind. 
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OTHER SAFETY EQUIPMENT 
Slow-moving vehicles:  This triangular 
orange and red sign must be put on the 
rear of slow-moving machinery and animal-
drawn vehicles that won’t go faster than 25 
mph. It warns drivers to slow down or they 
may run into the slower vehicle. 

Red safety flags and lights for long loads:  If you are 
hauling a load that extends 4 feet past the end of 
your vehicle secure the load with ropes or straps, and 
attach a red flag to the end of the load. The red 
warning flag must be at least 12 inches square. 

If you are hauling a load at night or during times when headlights are required, you 
must have a red light attached to the end of the load that is visible for 500 feet. 

SEAT BELTS SAVE LIVES 
Thousands of people would be alive today if they had 
remembered to buckle up. 

Montana law requires all people in a car to wear safety 
belts at all times, even if the car has air bags. Studies 
have shown that using seat belts greatly reduces your 
chances of being hurt or killed in a crash. 

Don’t be a back-seat bullet:  One unbuckled person can 
injure or kill other passengers who are buckled up.  
Always make sure everyone in the vehicle is securely 
buckled up. 

It’s a law we can live with! 

4 feet needs flag 
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Buckle Up is the law for kids, too 

Montana law requires that babies and children 
under 6 years old and less than 60 pounds must 
be in an approved child safety seat or booster 
seat, depending on their size. If you are pulled 
over and a child passenger is not securely 
buckled up, you will be fined $100.   

NEVER hold a child on your lap or allow them to ride in the 
front seat. At all times young children must be buckled 
into a child safety seat or booster.  

Where to put child safety seats:  The safest place for 
children is buckled in the back seat. If the front air bags go 
off and a child is in the front seat, it could cause death or 
serious injury. A rear-facing car seat should NEVER be 
placed in the front seat near an active air bag. 

Babies and toddlers should be strapped into a rear-facing 
car seat in the back seat. Children should face the rear as 
long as possible, at least until they are 2 years old.  When 
the child outgrows the weight or height limit for their rear-
facing seat, they can be turned around to face forward.  

Children can move to a booster seat when they are more than the weight and height 
limit of their forward-facing car seat. When a child’s height reaches 4 feet 9 inches 
tall, they can ride with a seat belt instead 
of a booster seat. The vehicle’s lap and 
shoulder belts must fit correctly.  

Make sure everyone wears seatbelts with 
the shoulder belt in front of the chest and 
over the shoulder, never under the arm 
or behind the back.   

Children are safest riding in the back seat 
until they are at least 13 years old. 

Little brother is buckled in a booster seat and 
big brother is buckled with a seat belt. 
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CHAPTER 2 QUIZ – MOTOR VEHICLE EQUIPMENT 
Directions: Choose only one answer. 

1. Headlights are required at any time you cannot see persons or vehicles for
500 feet because of snow, dust, fog and:

A. When traffic is very heavy.
B. During daylight savings time.
C. From ½ hour before sunset to ½ hour after sunrise.
D. From ½ hour after sunset to ½ hour before sunrise.

2. A leaking exhaust system can:
A. Cause excessive oil use.
B. Makes your vehicle need a tune-up sooner than normal.
C. Make you drowsy when driving.
D. Set grass fires on gravel roads.

3. Turn signals must be visible for:
A. 100 feet
B. 300 feet
C. 175 feet
D. Only visible at night

4. Vehicle tail lights must be seen for 500 feet to:
A. Let other drivers know you are slowing down.
B. Help you see when backing up.
C. Help other drivers see animals on the road.
D. Let other drivers see you.

5. A vehicle horn must be heard 200 feet away to:
A. Warn other drivers of danger.
B. Tell other cars you are turning.
C. Let cars know you are passing.
D. Tell cars ahead to drive slower.
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6. Babies and children under 6 years of age and who weigh less than 60 pounds:
A. Should sit in the front seat.
B. Should sit in the back seat.
C. Must be buckled into a child safety seat.
D. Should have snacks and toys for long trips.

7. Headlights must show persons or vehicles:
A. 350 feet on high beam.
B. 100 feet on low beam.
C. On the road ahead.
D. All of the above.

8. A sign with this shape on the back of a vehicle means:
A. Do not pass any vehicle.
B. This is a slow-moving vehicle that can go less than 25 mph.
C. Yield to this sign.
D. Stop and wait.

9. The law requires seat belt use:
A. For all people in the car.
B. When your car has air bags.
C. Every time you drive.
D. All of the above.

10. If you are hauling a load which goes past the back of a vehicle by ____ feet,
you must attach a red flag on the end of the load.

A. 2 feet
B. 3 feet
C. 4 feet
D. 8 feet

HOW DID YOU DO?  
Check the correct answers on page 132. 
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Chapter 3 – Signs, Signals & Markings 
A safe driver always follows signs, signals and markings on the road when making 
driving decisions. 

Traffic signs tell you about traffic rules and hazards. They must be obeyed or you 
could crash or get a traffic ticket. Signs tell you where you are, where you can and 
can’t go, how fast you can drive, how to get to the place you are going, and where 
there are roadside services such as rest stops, gas, lodging and food.  

 Know These Signs by Shape & Color

 Warnings

 Railroad Crossings

 School Zones

 Passing

 Merging

 Right of Way

 Regulatory – Traffic Laws

 Construction & Work Zones

 Guide & Highway Signs

 Traffic Signals & Lights

 Road & Lane Markings

 Bicycle Lanes & Pedestrian Crossings

 Curb Markings

 Rumble Strips
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KNOW THESE SIGNS BY SHAPE 
A sign’s shape is the first thing you will see. You need to know what a sign’s shape 
means in case it is covered by snow or dirt. 

  TRIANGLE   A YIELD sign is a red triangle pointing down. YIELD means to 
give the right of way. The sign tells drivers to slow down to a 
safe, reasonable speed and wait for cars on the other road 
to go first. When you see this sign, you must yield the right 
of way to vehicles, bikes and pedestrians who are crossing or 
entering your path of travel.  

Yield means wait and let other cars go first. 

STOP SIGN INFORMATION ON DRIVING RULES AND 
LAWS 

GUIDE SIGN SCHOOL ZONE AND SCHOOL CROSSING 
SIGNS 

YIELD SIGN WARNING 

NO PASSING 
ZONE 

RAILROAD CROSSING 
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OCTAGON The STOP sign is the only 8-sided traffic sign. 

Some intersections have 4-way stops, but many are 2-way or 3-way, meaning some 
traffic has the right of way.  When you come to a stop sign, always STOP. 

Just slowing down at a stop sign is against the law.  You must STOP. 

At a stop sign, STOP and watch for cars, bicycles and pedestrians before crossing: 

1. Look LEFT,

2. STRAIGHT AHEAD,

3. Then RIGHT,

4. Then LOOK BACK TO LEFT again.

If you can’t see traffic on the road, move forward slowly until you can see. Wait until 
it is safe and your path of travel is clear before driving ahead.  

You must: 

• Come to a COMPLETE stop.

• Do not drive into the intersection before you stop.

• Do not drive into the crosswalk before you stop.
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RECTANGLE 
Most regulatory and information signs are rectangles.  Drivers must obey the rules 
and the warnings on all regulatory signs. 

DIAMOND 
Most warning signs are yellow diamonds.  They warn you of unexpected or changing 
conditions ahead. Slow down and watch carefully. 

Signs inform drivers what to do and what NOT to do, so that traffic moves properly 
and safely. Always do what the signs tell you to do. 

The road ahead is a one-way street.  
Drive only in the direction of the arrow. 

The red circle and stripe means NO or DO NOT DO THIS. 

NO RIGHT TURN. It may be a one-way street or you are unable to safely 
see traffic approaching from the left.  Do not turn right here. 

NO U TURN means you cannot turn around to go in the opposite direction 
at this intersection. Pull into a parking lot to go the other way.  
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KNOW THESE SIGNS BY COLOR 

RED - Stop, yield or 
you can’t do something 

YELLOW - Warning 

BRIGHT Yellow Green - Warning 
(Pedestrian, Bicycle and School Zones) 

WHITE - Information, rules and laws 

BLACK - Regulatory, rules and laws 

GREEN - Guide 

BLUE – Information, services, 
gas stations, hospital, rest areas 

ORANGE – Construction 
work zones 

BROWN - Parks and recreation areas 
restrooms, boat launch, hiking trail 
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Yellow and Black Warning Signs 
Warning signs are yellow and black. They warn you of 
unexpected or changing conditions where you should 
drive with caution or be prepared to stop.  

There are MANY different warning signs. Only some are shown here: 

This is an advisory sign to give drivers information on driving a stretch of 
road, in the BEST driving conditions. This sign advises drivers to drive no 
faster than 40 mph on the turn ahead. 

Winding road ahead. Slow down. If the weather is bad, drive even 
more slowly into the curve. 

The road may be icy and slippery when wet.  Slow down. Never use 
cruise control when roads are wet or icy. 

There is a sharp turn in the road ahead. Slow down.  These signs warn 
that the road changes direction in a way that could surprise a driver. 

The road you are on comes to an end ahead. Slow down. 
It warns you not to take the road if you expect it to continue. 
You will have to turn around or go right or left. 

The road ahead goes downhill. Trucks gear down and will be going 
slowly. Watch for them. You may have to slow down or change lanes. 
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Entering divided highway. A median or divider ahead splits the 
highway into two separate roadways, and each roadway is one way. 
Keep to the right. 

Divided highway ends.  The highway ahead becomes a single 
roadway with traffic going in both directions. Keep to the right. 

No Passing Zone Sign 
A No Passing Zone sign is pennant-shaped. When you are driving 
in a no passing zone, do NOT pass any vehicles going in the same 
direction as you are going.  

There are many signs and road markings to help drivers know when to pass other 
cars safely. Pay attention to these warnings. They can help you prevent a head-on 
collision or driving off the side of the road. 

More information on highway passing is covered in chapters 4 and 5. 

Truck and Intersection Ahead Warning Signs 

Trucks may be crossing this area. Watch for large vehicles coming and 
going here. 

A side road enters or crosses the highway ahead. Watch out for cars entering or 
slowing down to turn. 
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Pedestrian and Bicycle Signs 
XING means CROSSING 

People walking are called PEDESTRIANS. That word 
is too big for the sign, so PED is sometimes used.  

Always give pedestrians the right of way. Slow down and stop when a person is 
waiting to cross or is crossing the road. Do not go until the person is out of the road. 

Bicyclists share the road with drivers. This sign alerts you 
to areas where bicycles are likely to be present. 

See Chapters 4 and 5 for more on sharing the road with 
pedestrians and bicyclists. 

School Zone Safety Signs 
Five-sided school crossing signs look like a building.  
It means a school is ahead. School zone speed limits 
may be as low as 15 mph. Watch for children at  
all times near schools and parks. These signs can be 
yellow, but are also bright green. 

A school bus might be stopped ahead. You might not see 
the stopped bus because of a hill or curve. Slow down. 

Be ready to stop. When the bus driver opens the 
stop sign and flashes the red lights on the bus, you 
must NOT pass the bus. Children are crossing the 
street in front of you. You can proceed when the 
stop sign is closed and the red lights stop flashing.  
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Wildlife and Livestock Crossing Signs 
These warning signs are posted in high wildlife crossing areas, but 
deer are found everywhere in Montana. Watch out for animals at all 
times. Slow down when you see one deer, antelope, elk or moose. 
There may be more than one animal crossing the road ahead.  

Montana highways can go through farm and ranch land. With no 
fences, cattle may wander onto the road. This sign shows where 
livestock may be crossing the road. Ranchers might also move herds 
of cattle across rural highways. Slow down and watch the road ahead. 

Be ready to stop for any animals on the road. Cattle always have the 
right of way. 

Bridge and Underpass Crossing Signs 
These signs warn that the overpass has low 
clearance. If you have a high load or are driving a 
tall recreational vehicle, you may not be able to 
pass under the bridge.  

The road over the bridge is not as wide as the road 
you are traveling. There will be room for cars to meet 
and pass, but slow down and drive with care. 

The bridge ahead has only one lane. There is not room for two cars 
to pass.  Yield to any cars on the bridge and wait for the lane to clear. 
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Railroad Crossings 
This sign warns a railroad crossing is ahead. 
RR on the sign means Rail Road. 

ALWAYS EXPECT A TRAIN at railroad crossings!  
Watch for trains. Slow down, look and listen  

for trains. Be prepared to STOP and wait when a train is coming. 

NEVER stop or walk on train tracks. Stop at least 15 feet from the tracks. 

STOP FOR TRAINS! 

Montana law requires you to stop for trains.  Trains cannot stop for you. 

Even if the train engineer sees you, a freight train moving at 
55 mph can take a mile or more to stop once the emergency 
brakes are applied. That’s 18 football fields! 

Do not be fooled. The train you see is closer and moving 
faster than you think. Look both ways. If you see a train 
approaching, stop and wait for it to go by before crossing 
the tracks.  

This sign tells where 
a road crosses the 

railroad tracks. 
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MERGING SIGNS 
MERGING means joining.  

Merging signs show drivers where more traffic may be joining, or 
entering, the roadway and will join you in the same lane, especially at 
on-ramps to highways. 

When a lane ends you may see a warning sign like 
this one. When the right lane ends, signal, watch for 
other traffic and change lanes. Do not stay in the 
outer, right lane. You might be forced off the road. 

On a highway, when you see a car about to merge into your lane, 
you should signal and move over to the left lane if it is safe to do 
so. Sometimes the driver in the merging car has to yield, slow 
down, and wait for a safe gap in traffic before  
entering the road. 

This merging sign tells drivers that the left lane ahead is closed 
and you must stay in the right lane or merge to the RIGHT lane. 
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BLACK & WHITE REGULATORY SIGNS 
Regulatory means you MUST obey.  Regulatory signs tell drivers the traffic laws they 
must obey. 

You are coming to a place where the speed limit is 
lower. If you go faster than the posted speed limit you 
could get a speeding ticket. It also increases your risk of 
a crash. 

At night you should drive at this posted speed. 

Lane signs tell you where 
you can go from certain 
lanes. 

Look ahead for arrow and 
turning signs at intersections. 

Stay in your lane when turning. 
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CONSTRUCTION & WORK ZONE SIGNS 
Work zone signs are orange and black. 

Construction signs give drivers many warnings. Highways are being 
repaired or improved. Protect the work crews on the road. Watch 
for large trucks, cranes and other road equipment. 

ORANGE signs warn drivers about ROAD 
CONSTRUCTION and WORK ZONES. 

The road is being built or repaired ahead. Drive 
slowly. Workers may be on or near the road. Heavy 
machinery may be crossing the road.  
In Montana, fines double in work zones. 

Watch for and follow directions of flaggers who 
may be standing near the road. They will tell you 
to stop or direct you to a detour. 

Loose gravel can cause your car or motorcycle to lose control and 
skid. Gravel can be thrown onto your windshield by another car. 

The side or shoulder of the road is soft. Stay on the 
paved or graveled road. 

Along with orange signs, traffic cones may be placed on the road to 
guide vehicles through construction areas.   
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GUIDE SIGNS 
Guide signs show drivers the way to go. 

Guide signs are on maps and along roads. Drivers 
study maps and watch for highway numbers and  
route markers. 

Blue signs tell travelers that services are nearby. 

Brown signs show where to find parks and other recreation areas. 

Interstate Highway Signs 
Even-numbered highways, 
like I-90, go east and west. 

Odd-numbered highways,  
like I-15, go north and south. 

Look for mile markers on highways and at 
exits. They can tell you where you are if 
your vehicle breaks down and you need to 
call for help.  

Traveling west on I-90 through Bozeman Pass  
Photo courtesy Tim Evanson, Creative Commons 

Camping   Gas  Hospital 

National Park    Restroom     Picnic Area      Swimming      Hiking 
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TRAFFIC SIGNALS 
Obey all traffic signals all the time.  
When you see this sign, a traffic signal is ahead. 

It is dangerous and possibly life-threatening to disobey 
traffic signals. 

Always look ahead and wait for traffic to clear before 
crossing a road. 

LIGHT MEANS GO. 
The green light is always at the bottom. 

Green means go, after you look to your left, right and ahead to make sure 
your lane is clear before moving. 

LIGHT MEANS SLOW and get ready to stop. 
It follows the GREEN for GO. 
The yellow light is always in the middle.  

Do not drive into the intersection if you can safely stop.  
You must not be in the intersection when the light turns red. 

 LIGHT MEANS STOP. It follows the YELLOW for SLOW. 
The red light is always at the top. 

Remain stopped until the light changes to green and all cross traffic has 
stopped and your lane is clear. 

We sometimes call 
traffic SIGNALS,  
traffic LIGHTS. 
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LEFT ARROW TRAFFIC SIGNALS 

Right turns at red lights are allowed after you stop unless 
there is a sign that says No Turn on Red.  

Where you can turn on red, STOP and look for a clear path 
of travel before turning. 

If you have a turn arrow that is green, you have the right of way and can 
turn without stopping.  

Watch and wait for pedestrians and other drivers before you turn. A 
pedestrian or bicyclist might still be crossing the intersection. 

FLASHING LIGHTS: The flashing red light means STOP. 
The flashing yellow light means SLOW DOWN.  
Watch for other vehicles, pedestrians and bicyclists.  

STOP and wait. 

STOP, the arrow is 
about to turn red. 

STOP and yield to 
traffic and pedestrians, 

then turn left. 

You have the right of 
way and can make 

your left turn. 
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PEDESTRIAN TRAFFIC SIGNALS 

The traffic signal light for GO is GREEN. 

Pedestrians may walk in the 
same direction traffic is 
going if the intersection is 
clear.  

Watch and wait for 
pedestrians and bicycles 
when you are turning. 

Even when the light is green for go, the hand tells 
pedestrians that they must not leave the curb now. The 
red hand and flashing DON’T WALK sign show there is 
not enough time to safely cross the street. 

You must always yield to pedestrians. Wait for people to 
cross the street before moving forward. 

Some pedestrians think they can leave the curb because the light is green. Whenever 
pedestrians are in the road, they have the right of way. Watch out and wait for 
people to cross the street. 

Numbers below the traffic light 
tell pedestrians how many 
seconds they have to cross the 
street before the light turns red. 
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ROAD MARKINGS  

WHITE LANE MARKINGS 
White lines separate traffic lanes going in  
the same direction and mark the right side 
of the road.  

Stop behind the wide white stop lines 
at intersections. 

When turning, stay in your lane and follow 
the turn path markings on the road. 

The fog line is the solid white line on the side of 
the road. It helps drivers when visibility is poor due 
to low light or poor weather conditions. 

A solid white line in the 
lane shows where you 
should not change lanes. 

Lane use arrows show 
where you must turn or 
drive straight ahead. 

One broken or dashed white line  
divides lanes going in the same direction. 
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 OK TO PASS  DO NOT PASS 

DO NOT PASS OK TO PASS → OK TO PASS → 

YELLOW LANE MARKINGS 
Yellow lines separate traffic lanes going in the opposite direction. 

Where there is both a solid and a dashed (broken) yellow line between opposing 
lanes of traffic, you may not pass if the solid yellow line is on your side. 

When the dashed yellow line is on your side, you may pass, but only if it is safe. 
Look ahead and wait until cars are no longer coming from the opposite direction or 
are very far in the distance.  

You need a gap with enough time to return safely 
to your lane after passing the vehicle in front of 
you. 

Two solid lines between opposing lanes of traffic 
means no one can pass.  

You may cross a solid single or double yellow line 
to turn into or out of a parking lot or private 
driveway only when it is safe to do so. 

The shared center turn lane is yellow and can be used for left turns and U-turns, if 
permitted. It is shared by vehicles traveling in both directions.  

Watch for other vehicles in the shared lane. Do not use this lane to pass other 
vehicles or to merge into traffic.  

No 
passing 
allowed 

Passing 
is 

allowed 

SHARED CENTER TURN LANE 
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PEDESTRIAN CROSSWALKS 
Pedestrians are people walking next 
to roads and crossing streets.  

Always STOP when people are waiting 
to cross the street.  

Every intersection is a crosswalk 
whether marked or not. 

No parking is allowed in the crosswalk 
or in the intersection. 

Stop before crosswalks 
Many streets with  
more than one lane in the 
same direction are marked 
with advance yield stop 
lines or white “shark 
teeth” so drivers can give 
pedestrians more space.  

BICYCLE ROAD MARKINGS 
Bicycle lanes are usually marked with 
white lines. This special lane gives 
bicyclists a place to ride safely in traffic. 
Do not park or drive in bike-only lanes. 

Sharrows are road markings that help drivers and 
bicyclists share the lane safely. Sharrows are usually 
marked on city streets used by bicycles and cars.  

Advance yield stop lines and “shark 
teeth” make pedestrian crossings safer. 

Stop a few feet 
before the 
crosswalk.  

Crosswalks are marked with 
white lines or are unmarked. 
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CURB MARKINGS 
No parking is allowed next to a curb painted yellow, white or red. 

WHITE CURB – LOAD OR UNLOAD ONLY 

YELLOW CURB – NO PARKING 

RED CURB – DO NOT STOP, STAND OR PARK 

BLUE CURB – HANDICAPPED PARKING ONLY 

Reserved Parking for People with Disabilities 
Only people with disabilities who 
have a special parking permit are 
allowed to park in blue handicapped 
parking spaces.  

If you park in one of these spaces and 
do not have a special parking permit, 
you can be fined up to $100. 

Rumble Strips 
Shoulder rumble strips are the bumps you 
feel and hear when your vehicle gets too 
close to the right edge of the highway.  

Some highways have centerline rumble 
strips. The noise and vibration warns you 
to steer safely back into your travel lane. 
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CHAPTER 3 QUIZ – SIGNS, SIGNALS & MARKINGS 
Directions: Choose only one answer. 

1. This sign means that there is a:
A. Bus stop ahead.
B. Stop sign ahead.
C. Caution sign ahead.
D. No Passing Zone ahead.

2. This sign means that:
A. You must drive slowly and sound horn.
B. You must watch for children in this area.
C. You must watch for children during school hours.
D. School ahead – slow down and watch for children

at all times.

3. This sign means that the highway ahead:
A. Turns to the right and then to the left.
B. Turns into a one-way road.
C. Turns sharply to the right.
D. Turns only to the right.

4. This sign means that:
A. Trucks are permitted on a narrow bridge.
B. The bridge ahead is open to one way traffic only.
C. The bridge ahead is wide enough for only one car at a time.
D. The road over the bridge ahead narrows, but still has two

lanes allowing two vehicles to pass.

5. This sign means that:
A. There is a detour ahead.
B. You must stop for flaggers.
C. The road ahead is closed to traffic.
D. The highway ahead is being repaired, approach with caution.
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6. This sign means that:
A. There are trucks hauling gravel ahead.
B. The highway ahead is under construction.
C. The highway ahead is covered with loose gravel.
D. The highway ahead has been sanded for icy conditions.

7. You may drive a vehicle to the left of the centerline of a two-lane highway
when:

A. Overtaking and passing another vehicle.
B. You have 500 feet of clear road ahead and to the rear.
C. The shoulder of the road is rough and the ditch is deep.
D. The road is clear of cars coming from the opposite direction.

8. The shared center lane is reserved for:
A. Making left turns.
B. U-turns when they are permitted.
C. All vehicles traveling in both directions.
D. All of the above.

9. At a traffic light which is flashing yellow:
A. You must stop and wait for the red light.
B. You must stop and wait for the green light.
C. You must slow down and proceed with caution.
D. You can make a U-turn.

10. You may turn right on red:
A. If there is a sign that says you can.
B. After stopping if your path of travel is clear.
C. After slowing down.
D. Only if you use your turn signal.

11. If the “Don’t Walk” signal is on, a pedestrian:
A. May cross if no cars are coming.
B. Must not cross; there is not enough time to cross safely.
C. Should stop in the intersection.
D. Must wait for a red light.
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12. This sign means:
A. A school bus may be stopped ahead. If lights are flashing or

the stop sign is displayed, you must STOP.
B. Everyone must stop ahead.
C. Yield right of way to buses.
D. Watch for bicycles.

13. This sign means:
A. You must slow down if you see cars.
B. Slow down, give the right of way to cars on right.
C. Stop.
D. Slow down to a reasonable speed and yield to other vehicles.

14. This sign means:
A. Sharp curve ahead.
B. The road turns to the right.
C. There is a road entering the highway from the right.
D. There is a crossroad ahead.

15. This sign means:
A. The road turns sharply to the left.
B. The road turns gradually to the left.
C. Winding road ahead.
D. The road turns to the right.

16. This sign means:
A. There is a crossroads ahead.
B. There is a railroad crossing ahead.
C. Stop ahead.
D. There is a rest room ahead.

17. This sign means:
A. Stop if you see cattle.
B. Cattle crossing ahead.
C. There are no fences and cattle may wander

onto the road. Be prepared to stop.
D. Deer cross the road here.
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18. This sign means:
A. You may turn right.
B. You must not turn left here.
C. You must go straight.
D. The road curves.

19. This sign means:
A. You may pass if it is clear ahead.
B. Do not pass without honking horn.
C. Slow down in a school zone.
D. You must not pass the car ahead while driving in the no

passing zone.

20. This sign means:
A. You must stop if other cars are coming.
B. Yield to cars on the road ahead.
C. You must come to a complete stop before entering

the intersection ahead.
D. You must stop before turning.

21. This sign means:
A. There is only room for one lane of traffic.
B. The right lane ends, merge left.
C. You are coming to a gravel road.
D. This is a one-way road.

HOW DID YOU DO?   
Check the correct answers on page 132. 
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Chapter 4 – Driving Rules 
 General Driving

 Speed Limits

 Passengers

 Passing & Turning

 Right-of-Way & Intersections

 Pedestrians

 Emergency Vehicles

 Funeral Processions

 School Zones & School Buses

 Bicyclists & Motorists

 Parking

Driving rules make our roads 
safer for everyone. 
When everyone obeys traffic laws and rules, 
fewer people are hurt or killed on our streets 
and highways. Crashes are mostly caused by 
errors in human judgment. Obey the rules of 
the road and each trip will be much safer for 
you and everyone around you.

Never, ever ride in the back of a pickup 
Riding in the back of a pickup is not illegal, but it is NOT safe. 
Many people and pets are hurt when they fall out at corners and 
after quick stops.  

People riding in the bed of a pickup have been killed when the 
truck runs off the road, rolls or crashes, and they are thrown out.  
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GENERAL DRIVING 
Laws and regulations exist to keep you and others safe. 

The first rule of the road is to OBEY.  

OBEY the orders of the highway patrol, police officers, and flaggers. 

OBEY all traffic signals, 
signs and road markings. 

OBEY all traffic laws. 

Some basic driving laws are: 

• Drive at a speed that is safe for
conditions.

• Respect other road users and share
the road. Stay in your lane.

• Know what’s behind your vehicle.
Walk around your parked car before
backing up.

• Give a proper signal before turning or changing lanes.

• Keep your vehicle in a safe mechanical condition.

• Drive a vehicle only when it can be done safely and
without interfering with traffic.

• Never back up or stop in any travel lane. Keep moving
until you can safely pull off the road.

• Never drive on the shoulder of the road.
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Before you drive, know the driving conditions … 
How are the roads?  Can I see okay?  Is it cold or hot out?   Can I stop quickly?  
Is my car in good condition?  Do I have enough gas?   Do my headlights work? 

Then ask yourself:  Do I feel well enough to drive? 

SPEED LIMITS 
Always drive at a SAFE speed and follow all speed limit signs. The speed limit on 
Montana interstate highways is 80 mph day and night, except near cities like Billings, 
Butte, Great Falls, Helena and Missoula, and on mountain passes. 

Speed Limits in miles per hour (mph) Cars and Light Trucks Heavy Trucks 
Day Night Day Night 

Interstate Highways 80 80 70  70 
Urban-Area Interstates 65 65 65 65 
State Highways 70 65 65 55 
Urban Districts 25-45 check posted speed limits 

Sometimes you need to drive slower than the posted speed 
limit. ALWAYS slow down for curves and at night. 

Slow down for road, weather and traffic conditions. It’s harder 
to stop when the roads are icy and wet. 

 Rested and alert?     Calm or upset?  Focused or distracted? 
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PASSING RULES 
Drive with the flow of traffic and pass only when 
needed. Each time you pass someone, there is a 
chance for a crash.  

On two-lane roads, you may cross the dashed 
centerline to pass another vehicle, but be extra 
careful when doing so. Oncoming traffic in the other 
lane could be closer and faster than you think. 

Pass only when the vehicle in front of you is going 
slower than the speed limit.  

Before you pass a car on a highway, 
ask yourself if you can WAIT. 

BE PATIENT AND USE THE PASSING LANES! 
On two-lane highways with special passing lanes, it is better to 
drive a few more miles to use the passing lane, so you can safely 
pass vehicles that are going slower than the speed limit. 

If you are towing a trailer or need to drive slower 
than other traffic, drive in the right lane to let 
others pass you or pull off the road at a turnout 
or rest stop. 

Look closely.  
What is wrong here? 
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If you must pass on the highway: 
STAY BACK - don’t tailgate. 

• Check ahead. Is the oncoming lane clear of
traffic?

• Can you see an oncoming driver moving
toward you?

• If so, stay put and wait for a safe opening.
A gap of more than 1/3 of a mile is safest.

• Check mirrors and over left shoulder.

• Signal left.

• Check ahead and over left shoulder again.

MOVE LEFT INTO ONCOMING LANE 

• Speed up slightly. You may exceed the
speed limit by 10 mph to pass on a two-
lane road.

• Use your turn signal.

• Keep your eyes looking ahead, but be aware of the
vehicle you are passing.

• When you can see the front of the vehicle you’ve
passed in your rear view mirror, you can begin to
return to your lane.  You must return to your travel
lane before coming within 100 feet of oncoming traffic.

MOVE RIGHT AFTER YOU SEE THE PASSED CAR IN YOUR MIRROR 

• Before you return to your lane, allow as much space as
possible so you don’t cut in front of the vehicle you passed.

• Turn off your signal.

• Return to a safe speed—no more than the posted speed
limit.

Find a 
gap of 

1/3 mile 
or more 
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APPROACHING VEHICLES IN YOUR LANE 
Drivers catching up to and planning to pass a vehicle traveling in the 
same direction must slow down and yield to that vehicle. If they are 
driving slower than the speed limit, pass when it is safe to do so. If 
they are going the speed limit, you need to slow down and give them 
space. Never follow too closely. 

Yield to vehicles in your lane slowing down to make a turn or coming to a stop. 

BEING PASSED BY OTHER DRIVERS 
If a driver comes up behind you and begins to 
pass, stay in your lane. 

• Do not speed up. Continue to drive the
same speed. Help the other driver safely
pass you.

• When the driver starts to pass, slow down
a little. This will make more space in front
of you, so the driver will have more room
to pull back over to their lane.

• If you see an approaching vehicle passing toward you in your lane, slow down
to give more room for the driver to return to his lane.

Passing on the right is okay when: 

• The car in front of you is turning left.

• You are on a one-way street with paved road wide enough for two vehicles
going in the same direction.

• You have two or more lanes going the same direction.

Passing on the right can be dangerous. Other 
drivers may not see you and might change lanes 
in front of you.   

Never pass on the shoulder of the road.  Drivers 
in front of you might need to pull off the road and 
might not see you coming from behind.  

It is extremely risky to pass semi-trucks on the 
right.     See page 91 to learn about the No Zone.  
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TURNING RULES 
How to turn at one-way and two-way streets 

A. Turning RIGHT from a
2-way into a 2-way
street.

B. Turning LEFT from a
2-way into a 2-way
street.

C. Turning LEFT from a
1-way to a 2-way
street.

D. Turning RIGHT from a
1-way to a 2-way
street.

E. Turning LEFT from a
2-way to a 1-way
street.

F. Turning LEFT from a
1-way to a 1-way
street.

Look 
• Are there signs or signals? Is it safe to turn?
• Are there vehicles, bicycles or pedestrians ahead, to the sides or back?

Think 
• Is it legal to turn here?
• Do others know what I am doing? Where should my car go?

Signal 
• In town, use turn/hand signals 100 feet before the turn.
• In rural areas, use turn/hand signals 300 feet before the turn.

Communicate 
• Glance at other drivers.
• Be in the proper lane position to turn.  Use turn signals. Turn off when done.
• Vehicle position and eye contact can tell drivers you are going to turn.

A B 

C D 

E F 

CHAPTER 4: DRIVING RULES      •      ADAPTED ILLUSTRATED MONTANA DRIVER MANUAL 55 



RIGHT TURNS 

To make a right turn: 

• Begin right turn signal and start slowing down at least 100 feet
from the corner. Signal 300 feet for rural areas.

• Look straight ahead and to both sides for traffic, bicyclists and
people crossing before making a right turn.

• Turn into the right travel lane, but watch for cars parked along
the curb.

Caution: Watch for large trucks and buses making WIDE 
right turns. 

In order to make the turn the driver may need to swing 
left before turning right. Do not try to pass large vehicles 
on the right. 

Right turns can be made when a traffic light is red, 
unless there is a No Turn on Red sign.  

The red car and the 
red “X” show what 
NOT to do. If you 
turn right from the 
left lane you could 
be in the way of a 
car coming through 
the intersection on 
a green light.  

Turning right on RED … 

Move into the right lane 
closest to the curb. STOP. 

Wait until all vehicles, 
pedestrians, and bicycles 
are out of the way. Turn 
right into the right lane. 

If there is another lane, you 
can only turn right from the 
lane next to the curb. 
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LEFT TURNS 

To make a left turn: 

• Check your mirrors for cars
behind you and turn your
head to the left to check
beside you.

• When clear, signal and
move over close to the
centerline or into a left-
turn lane.

• Put your turn signal on and
start slowing down 100
feet from the intersection.

• Signal 300 feet for rural areas.

• Look straight ahead and to both sides for traffic and
people crossing before starting to make a left turn.

• Yield to oncoming traffic and pedestrians.

• Don’t cut corners. Don’t swing wide.

• As you turn, keep close to the centerline, but don’t cross it.

• Gradually move to the center of the lane and make your turn.
Be sure your turn signal goes off after the turn.

To make a left turn at a green traffic light: 
Enter the left turn lane, pull 
into the intersection part 
way. Keep wheels straight. 

YIELD to oncoming traffic. 

Make your left turn with 
green arrow or green light. 

A flashing yellow arrow allows left turns after 
yielding to oncoming traffic.  Wait for a safe gap.  
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TURNING AROUND 
A U-turn is a turn on the road as shown in the picture. 

Try to avoid U-turns. It is better to drive into a parking lot, 
turn around and come out. 

You may make a U-turn on any rural, two-lane road, only if 
it can be done safely. Turn around on a road when you can 
see 500 feet in both directions and no vehicles are coming. 

You may NOT make a U-turn on a busy street 
or near a curve or a hill. 

INTERSECTION RULES 
An intersection is where two or more roads 
cross or join. 

• Slow down and watch for signals, signs,
and road markings.

• Watch for people, cars, trucks and bicycles.

• Look left, right, straight ahead and left
again whenever you cross an intersection.

• Proceed only when safe and clear.

• Watch for red-light runners, drivers who
don’t obey traffic signals and speed up
when the light is about to change.

• When roads are snow-covered and icy,
intersections can be very slick. Be careful,
control speed and slow down before
braking.
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ROUNDABOUTS 
Roundabouts are circular roads around a center island with access to several roads 
heading out in different directions. It is a type of intersection without signals that 
controls the flow of traffic and helps reduce crashes. 

• Slow down as you approach a
roundabout.

• Yield to pedestrians.

• Yield to traffic already driving in
the roundabout.

• Find a safe gap.

• Merge into the flow of traffic.

• Signal to let others know where
you plan to exit the roundabout.

• Turn right onto the road you
need.

• Drive slowly. Roundabout speed
limits are usually 15 mph.
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Who should yield? 
Why? 

RIGHT-OF-WAY RULES 
YIELD means to let other traffic go first. 

SLOW to a reasonable speed when you see this sign so you 
can stop if cars or people are in or near the intersection. 

RIGHT OF WAY 
Rules about who must yield at intersections and road crossings are called the right-
of-way rules. Yield the right of way to let someone else go first. 

Follow these right-of-way rules: 
• YIELD to vehicles on the road you are going to cross.

• YIELD to vehicles already in a roundabout.

• Watch for vehicles, bicycles and pedestrians
Look to the left, right, straight ahead and left again.

• Slow down, and be ready to stop and wait.

• YIELD to vehicles, bicycles and pedestrians still in an intersection
when the traffic light changes, even if you have the green light.

Who has the right of way at controlled intersections? 
Intersections with signals, yield or stop signs are called controlled intersections. 
When there are stop signs at all four corners it is a 4-way Stop. There are also 3-
way and all-way stops. 

At 4-way stop signs: 

• The first driver to stop at the corner should be
the first to go through the intersection, when it
is safe to cross.

• When two or more drivers stop at the same
time, yield to the driver on the right so they
can go first.
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Who has the right of way at uncontrolled intersections? 

• Uncontrolled intersections
have no traffic lights, stop or
yield signs.

• Drivers must yield to vehicles
coming from the right.

• Drivers turning left must wait
for oncoming traffic going
straight ahead.

You must STOP and YIELD when leaving from alleys, driveways, parking lots, and 
parking garages. 

YIELDING TO PEOPLE WHO ARE BLIND OR DISABLED 
People who are blind or can’t see 
well may walk across streets with 
a guide dog or they might carry a 
white cane. 

Pedestrians who are blind or 
vision-impaired always have the right of way. Drivers 
must come to a full STOP when a blind person approaches at the corner. 

Never use your horn when pedestrians are crossing. Stop ten feet away and wait 
until the person is completely off the road. 

Be patient with people who are disabled or vision-impaired. 

Give them plenty of time to cross the street. Stop before 
the crosswalk to allow extra space between your car and 
the person crossing, especially if they are in a wheelchair or 
walking with a cane.  

Watch and wait for people in wheelchairs at curb ramps. 

Source: Jan Moser 
www.pedbikeimages.org/ 
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YIELDING TO PEDESTRIANS 
All drivers and passengers are pedestrians when they are not in a car. It’s important 
to know the right-of-way laws that pedestrians must follow to make sure everyone 
on the road stays safe. People walking or running are pedestrians.   

These are the pedestrian traffic laws 
and safety rules: 

• People walking along roads at night should
wear light-colored clothing or carry a light.

• When a road has clear sidewalks or paths,
pedestrians may not walk on the road.

• When people are walking on the road, they
must walk on the left, facing oncoming traffic.

• Pedestrians must cross streets at intersections
and use crosswalks.

• Pedestrians are not allowed to leave a curb and walk into
the path of a vehicle.

• Pedestrians must obey all traffic laws and rules which
apply to people walking.

• Drivers must yield the right of way to pedestrians crossing
in a crosswalk or at an intersection.

• Drivers are expected to drive with care and watch for pedestrians. Slow down
and stop to avoid colliding with any pedestrian, even if they are in the wrong.
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YIELDING TO EMERGENCY VEHICLES 
You must yield the right of way to police 
vehicles, fire engines, ambulances or 
other emergency vehicles using a siren 
and red or blue flashing lights. 

• Pull over to the right edge of the road when you see or
hear an emergency vehicle approaching from any
direction.

• STOP and wait until the emergency vehicle has
passed.

• Follow any instructions given over the emergency
vehicle loud speaker.

• If you are in an intersection, drive through the
intersection before you pull over and stop, unless the emergency vehicle is
right behind you. They will find the safest route around stopped traffic.

• Signal and move over into the passing lane to pass a traffic stop or accident.

YIELDING TO FUNERAL PROCESSIONS 
• Drivers in a funeral procession (line) should

turn on their headlights and follow the car
ahead closely.

• Only the front car in the line must obey traffic
signs and signals.

• Other traffic should stop and let the funeral
procession go by.

• Do not drive between the vehicles in the
procession unless authorized by a police
officer or if driving an emergency vehicle.

• Be careful! You need to be ready to slow or stop if other drivers don't yield the
right of way.
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YIELDING IN SCHOOL ZONES 
Watch for children walking and biking. 

• STOP for school crossing guards.

• STOP for children in crosswalks.

Watch for children near 
schools and parks anytime day 
and night.  

Develop the habit of checking your speed and 
slowing down near any school. Local areas set 
their own school zone speed limits. Obey all 
posted speed limits. 

Be careful around school bus stops and never 
park there. 

YIELDING TO SCHOOL BUSES 
YELLOW FLASHING LIGHTS warn that a school bus is going to 
stop. Slow down. Watch for children. 

RED FLASHING LIGHTS warn drivers to stop before reaching the 
school bus. Do not pass the bus in either direction until 
children are off the road and the red lights have been turned 
off or extinguished. 

RED LIGHTS FLASHING?  
STOP AND WAIT. 
You must stop if you approach a school bus that has stopped 
and has its red signal lights on and stop arm out. It is loading or 
unloading children.  

You may not go until the flashing red signal lights are turned off or 
extinguished.  
Do not make a turn in front of a school bus or a city bus that is stopped at an 
intersection to load or unload people.  
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Driving safely around 
school buses 
Always stop at least 30 feet from  
the back and front of school buses. 

Picture A shows who must 
stop on a two-lane road. Both 
cars must stop at least 30 feet 
behind or in front of the 
school bus.  

Picture B shows a divided 
street or highway without a 
median strip. If you meet a 
school bus that has stopped 
on the other side of a divided 
highway without a median 
strip, you need to stop 30 
feet from the bus.   

Picture C shows a divided 
street or highway with a 
median strip. If you meet a 
school bus that has stopped 
on the other side of a divided 
highway with a median strip, 
you do not need to stop. 

       

Picture A.  2-LANE ROAD 

IT SHOULDN’T BE THIS DANGEROUS 
STOP FOR FLASHING RED LIGHTS 

Picture B.  DIVIDED HIGHWAY WITHOUT MEDIAN STRIP 

Picture C.  DIVIDED HIGHWAY WITH MEDIAN STRIP 

MEDIAN STRIP 
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SHARING THE ROAD WITH 
BICYCLISTS 
Under Montana law bicycles are vehicles. Bicyclists are expected to 
follow the same traffic rules as motorists. Bicyclists must ride with 
traffic in the same direction, because they are easier to see and 
drivers can predict what a person on a bicycle might do. 

PASSING BICYCLISTS SAFELY 
To safely pass a person 
riding a bicycle, move over 
into the left lane.  

Never pass a bicyclist near 
an intersection. Riders 
may be faster than you 
expect.  

Drivers can cross the yellow centerline to pass a person on a bicycle.  Slow down and 
wait until it is safe to pass.  

Allow five feet or more between your vehicle and the bicyclist when passing. This is 
the safest distance because bicyclists need room for possible hazards, like the door of 
a parked vehicle opening suddenly.  

Bicycles are vehicles and they are 
allowed to use the FULL LANE when they 
plan to make a left turn or need to avoid 
things in the road. 

Before drivers make a right turn, they 
must yield the right of way to people on 
bicycles. Bicyclists going straight can be 
hit by drivers making turns.  

BE BRIGHT AT NIGHT. 
Bicyclists are required to 
use lights and wear 
reflective clothing.   
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PARKING RULES 
• Park in a parking lot or if you must park on a

road, park as far away from traffic as
possible.

• Always set parking brake, especially on hills.

• Never leave keys in a parked car. Lock the
doors whenever you leave the vehicle.

• Your vehicle must be within 18 inches of the
curb or shoulder.

• Park where cars coming from both directions
can see your car.

• When you park on a hill, turn your wheels so that if your car starts to roll
downhill, it will roll away from traffic.

A. DOWNHILL: Turn wheels toward the curb.
B. UPHILL: Turn wheels away from curb.
C. NO CURB – UPHILL OR DOWNHILL: Turn wheels to right.

NO PARKING IS EVER ALLOWED: 
• On a sidewalk
• Blocking a driveway or alley
• On a bridge or in a tunnel
• Near a fire hydrant
• Near a railroad crossing or on the tracks
• Near a stop sign or traffic signal, or in an intersection
• On the wrong side of the street
• Wherever a sign, marking or curb says you can’t park

Backing into an angle  
parking spot. It’s easy as 1-2-3. 
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HOW TO PARALLEL PARK 

A. Signal that you intend to
park on the right.

Stop with at least two feet 
between you and the parked 
car.  

Check the size of your 
intended parking space. Will 
your car fit?  

Pull beyond the space. Line 
up your rear bumpers, side 
mirrors or steering wheels.  

Stop, foot on brake, shift to 
reverse. 

B. Look all around you and make sure no cars are approaching from the rear. Turn
steering wheel fully right toward the space and angle back until your steering wheel
lines up with rear bumper of the other car. Stop.

C. Straighten your wheels to the left and continue backing straight. Back slowly at
inching speed.

D. Check for room in front of your car. When your front bumper is past rear bumper
of the other car, turn steering wheel all the way left towards the road.

E. Back until parallel with the curb. Do not bump car behind. Straighten the wheel
and center your car in the space.

Vehicles parked parallel must have wheels within 18 inches of the curb.  
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CHAPTER 4 QUIZ – DRIVING RULES 
Directions: Choose only one answer. 

1. Approaching a yield right-of-way sign you must:
A. Yield to the car on the left.
B. Yield to the car on the right.
C. Slow down and yield to all cars.
D. Slow down.

2. To avoid hitting a pedestrian, a driver must:
A. Make sure the pedestrian sees the driver first.
B. Yield the right of way, even if the pedestrian is in the wrong.
C. Yield the right of way to pedestrians when they are legally entitled to it.
D. Honk their horn at every intersection.

3. When a driver approaches a school bus from either direction, and the bus has
stopped on a road or highway with its red lights flashing, she must:

A. Stop before reaching the bus and not go until the bus has started moving.
B. Stop before reaching the bus and do not go until the flashing red lights have

been turned off or extinguished.
C. Stop before reaching the bus and go only when all children have loaded or

unloaded.
D. Stop and do not go until the way is clear.

4. When encountering a funeral procession, a driver:
A. May not drive between the vehicles forming the procession unless

authorized by a police officer.
B. May not enter an intersection to cross the path of a funeral procession as it

proceeds through a red traffic light.
C. Must yield the right-of-way to a vehicle that is part of the funeral

procession.
D. All of the above.

5. When two vehicles arrive at a four-way stop, which car goes first?
A. The car on the right.
B. The car on the left.
C. The car that stops there first.
D. The car that is turning left.

CHAPTER 4: DRIVING RULES      •      ADAPTED ILLUSTRATED MONTANA DRIVER MANUAL 69 



6. Vehicles parked parallel should have their wheels within how many inches of
the curb?

A. 12 inches
B. 24 inches
C. 18 inches
D. 6 inches

7. The speed limit at night for trucks on a two-lane highway is:
A. 70 miles per hour.
B. 55 miles per hour.
C. As fast as you can go and still see.
D. 45 miles per hour.

8. A good rule to remember for passing is:
A. Pass on the right whenever possible.
B. Always flash your lights and sound your horn to alert the other driver.
C. Try to get in front of any line of slow moving traffic so you can see.
D. Drive with the flow of traffic, passing only when needed.

9. When parking on a hill facing uphill without a curb:
A. Turn wheels to the right.
B. Turn wheels to the left.
C. Keep wheels straight ahead.
D. Turn on parking lights.

10. When passing, you must return to the right side of the road within ________ of
an approaching car.

A. 100 feet
B. 500 feet
C. 1/4 mile
D. 50 feet

11. Other than turn signals, other motorists can know that you plan to turn by:
A. Your vehicle position and eye contact.
B. The turning of your wheels.
C. Your vehicle slowing at the corner.
D. The actions of the car behind you.
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12. When approaching a stop sign at a railroad crossing, you must:
A. Slow down and proceed with caution.
B. Stop if a train is approaching.
C. Stop, look and proceed with caution.
D. Stop only if you hear a train whistle.

13. Lines dividing two lanes of traffic going the same direction are:
A. Always yellow.
B. Always a broken or dashed white line.
C. Always solid white.
D. Can be white or yellow, depending on the state you are in.

14. At a stop sign or traffic light, before proceeding, a driver should:
A. Look for cars approaching from the left, right and straight ahead.
B. Look for pedestrians on sidewalks and about to cross the street.
C. Look for bicyclists on the road and the sidewalk.
D. All of the above.

15. The speed limit in a construction zone is:
A. 35 mph
B. 15 mph
C. 25 mph
D. Different according to conditions.

16. When a driver sees or hears an emergency vehicle, he must:
A. Stop quickly where he is.
B. Stop and wait for a red or green light.
C. Stop at the right side of the street.
D. Increase speed and keep out of the way of the emergency vehicle.

17. You should be cautious when passing a bicycle because:
A. You are going faster than the bicycle.
B. The bicycle always has the right of way.
C. Oncoming traffic may not see you pull out to pass.
D. The cyclist may have to swerve into traffic to avoid an object on the road.

HOW DID YOU DO?   
Check the correct answers on page 132.  
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Chapter 5 – Driving Safely 
 Distracted Driving

 Basic Driving

 Scanning & Searching

 Starting & Accelerating

 Steering Safely

 Speed Limits & Controlling Speed

 Starting from a Stopped Position

 Stopping & Parking

 Following & Stopping Distance

 Lane Changes & Passing Safely

 Communicating

 Adjusting to Driving Conditions

 Interstate & Highway Driving

 Bicycle & Motorcycle Safety

 City Driving

DISTRACTED DRIVING 
Anytime you take your eyes off the road and your hands off the steering wheel, your 
car is without a driver for a few seconds. This is long enough to veer into the lane of 
an oncoming car or off the road into a ditch.  

BRIGHT IDEA! 
Bright sunlight can make it hard to see 

well while driving. 

Wear a good pair of sunglasses to help 
you see through the glare. 
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You cannot drive safely if you are dialing, texting or 
checking a handheld phone for even a few seconds.  

Always keep two hands on the wheel and two eyes 
on the road. NEVER text while driving. 

Distracted driving is impaired and careless driving. 
You are also impaired when you are drunk, drugged or drowsy. 

Careless, reckless and impaired driving causes crashes. 

When drivers are impaired, they can die in a 
crash or kill others in their path. Many more 
are left with serious, lifelong injuries.  

 “I looked, but I didn’t see.” 

Nearly 90 percent of crashes involved the 
driver being distracted by something only 
three seconds before they crashed.  

What we call multi-tasking actually isn't. 
Your brain is dealing with one thing at a 
time, shifting between things quickly. 

You risk a crash when you try to do 
something else while you drive and when 
you look away from the road. 

Driving already requires skill and judgment 
to adjust speed, check traffic, and avoid 
hazards. When you throw in another task, 
LOOK OUT!  
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BASIC DRIVING 
No driver manual can teach you how to 
operate a vehicle and be a safe driver. 
Driving requires skills gained through 
instruction and many hours and miles of 
practice behind the wheel. 

When you have your learner license, practice 
turning, stopping, parking and backing up in 
a safe place and in low-risk driving 
conditions.  

Start out in an empty parking lot. As your driving skills improve, practice more 
difficult tasks like changing lanes and merging on quiet neighborhood streets and 
later on busier roads and highways. 

New drivers need lots of practice to gain enough experience to handle daily driving 
hazards and unexpected situations. Drivers show the greatest improvement in the 
first 1,000 to 5,000 miles of driving. 

When you drive, you make many DRIVING DECISIONS. 
About 90 percent of all driving decisions are based on 
what is SEEN by the driver. 

Drivers must see far enough ahead and behind to make 
good decisions about speed, lane position, traffic signs, 
signals, markings, and hazards. 

Drivers must be able to see pedestrians, bicyclists and 
other motorists on both sides of their vehicle when 
crossing intersections and turning.  

Drivers must see near and far: close enough to read 
the speedometer, far enough to see the road ahead. 
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SCANNING AND SEARCHING 
You are scanning and searching when you look around and ahead. 

Every 6-8 seconds, scan the road to search for vehicles, signs and people. You can 
communicate, change speed and change direction to avoid a crash. 

Traffic flows smoothly when drivers look well ahead.  

Scanning helps you stop before a hazard rather than right when it appears. 

Search and scan to the sides to make sure no one is coming, especially at 
intersections and railroad crossings. 

Even when you are parked, you should check to the side before opening your car 
door to avoid bicyclists, pedestrians or other traffic.  

WATCH FOR THESE 
WARNINGS & HAZARDS: 

Signs, signals and markings 

Cars suddenly stopping 

Cars changing lanes 

Pedestrians 

Bicycles and motorcycles 

School zones 

Brake or hazard lights 

Parked cars moving into 
traffic 

Animals 

Slow-moving vehicles 

Heavy traffic 

Merge and exit lanes 

Tailgaters 

Speeders and lane weavers 

Emergency vehicles 

Construction zones 

• Move your eyes to scan and search.

• Search close to check speed and mirrors and to
see behind and to the sides.

• Search near to see what could be in the road a
block ahead.

• Search far and wide to see what could be in the
road a quarter mile ahead.
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STARTING & ACCELERATING 
Start the engine: 
Steps 1 through 3 may be different if you have a standard (manual) shift vehicle, 
hybrid electric, or diesel engine. Read your owner’s manual and get to know your 
vehicle. 

Put the car in motion (accelerate): 
Slowly step on the gas pedal. Starting too fast can cause the wheels to spin on 
slippery surfaces and make the vehicle slide. 

Step 5 Step 6 Step 7 

Check traffic in rearview mirrors 
and look over your left shoulder. 

Move foot from 
brake to gas 
pedal and then 
gently press the 
gas pedal. 

Turn off left 
turn signal. 
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STEERING
Put both hands on the steering 
wheel with the knuckles of the 
hands on the outside of the 
steering wheel.  

Keep hands low and balanced on 
the steering wheel to avoid the air 
bag if it should burst open in a 
collision. 

Don’t sit too close. About 12 inches from the steering wheel is a safe distance. 

HOW TO STEER 
• Slow speeds require faster steering movement.
• Faster speeds require slower steering movement.
• Turn right - go right. Turn left – go left.
• When turning corners, use “hand-over-hand” and avoid “palming” the wheel

to turn it. Don’t let the steering wheel slip through your hands to straighten it.

Right Turn 
Left hand pushes up 

Numbers on a clock match the place of the red numbers 
on the steering wheel.  

You have the best steering control when both hands grip 
the steering wheel at 8 and 4 o’clock or 9 and 3 o’clock. 

8 4 

3 9 Right Turn  
Right hand pulls down 
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MOVING FROM A STOPPED POSITION 
Leaving a parking space on the road: 
1. With your foot firmly on the brake, release

the parking brake.
2. Signal.
3. Shift to First Gear, Drive, or Reverse.
4. Look in your mirrors and over your shoulder.
5. Make sure there are no pedestrians, bicycles,

motorcycles or vehicles in your lane.
6. Slowly drive forward.  Accelerate gradually.

Backing up: 
1. Look all around your car before backing up to be

sure it is safe.
2. Turn your head to check blind spots that mirrors

do not show.
3. Back up no faster than a slow walk.
4. Check that the shift lever is in REVERSE before

accelerating slowly.
5. Turn your head and body to watch over your

shoulder. Go slowly.
6. Check your mirrors and watch the front end.
7. NEVER back around a corner.
8. NEVER back up unless you can clearly see what’s behind you.

How to sit while backing up your vehicle: 

Remember: SMOG 
          Signal 
          Mirrors  
Look Over the Shoulder 
         Go 
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STOPPING AND PARKING YOUR CAR 
Stopping and parking your vehicle: 

Stop only in a safe position. 

• DO NOT STOP on a hill or curve.

• DO NOT PARK in front of a stop sign or in a crosswalk.

When you plan to stop or turn, tap the brakes to warn other 
drivers you will be slowing down. It is a good idea to touch the 
brake pedal lightly two or three times or use an arm signal when 
other drivers don’t expect cars to be stopping or slowing. 
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COMMUNICATING 
Letting others know you are there is one way to avoid a collision. 

HEADLIGHTS 
Headlights can help people see you day and night, 
especially in rain, snow and fog. Headlights can 
also make you more visible in the glare from a 
rising or setting sun. 

HORN 
Your horn can get people’s attention when they are not looking your way. Use your 
horn when it will help prevent a crash. When the danger is not great, a light tap on 
the horn is all you need to alert pedestrians or cars who appear to be moving into 
your lane. 

USING YOUR TURN SIGNALS 
• You must signal before every turn and lane change.

• You must signal before slowing down, whenever there is time.

• Touch the brake. The brake lights will flash to warn drivers behind you that you
are slowing or stopping.

• You may use both turn signal lights
and hand signals if you think your
lights may not be seen. Other than by
turn signals, drivers might know you
intend to turn by your vehicle position
and eye contact with you, but using
signals is the best way.

• You must signal for at least 100 feet
in town before you slow down, turn or stop. Signal at least 300 feet in rural
areas.

• You may begin signaling before 100 feet when you think it is necessary.

• But, do not signal TOO early for a turn. Other drivers may think you forgot to
turn off your turn signal or that you are turning somewhere else.

It’s good to know the basic hand signals for 
turning and stopping/slowing. 
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CONTROLLING SPEED 

HIGHWAY SPEED LIMITS 
Always drive at a speed that is safe. The speed limit on Montana Interstate 
highways is 80 mph day and night except near large cities like Billings, Great 
Falls and Missoula, and through mountain passes. 

Speed limits in miles per hour (mph) Cars and Light Trucks Heavy Trucks 
Day Night Day Night 

Interstate Highways 15, 90 & 94 80 80 70 70 
Urban-Area Interstates 65 65 65 65 
State Two-Lane Highways 70 65 65 65 

Sometimes it is not smart to drive as fast as the speed limit allows. Slow down for 
road, weather and traffic conditions. 

• Unless you have an emergency, collision or breakdown, NEVER stop, turn or
park on a highway.

• When you stop on the side of the road, other drivers must be able to see you
for 500 feet. Use your parking lights.

• NEVER leave a vehicle on the highway if it can be moved.

Slow driving can be unsafe, too. 
Do not drive so slowly that you block traffic. 

Slow-moving vehicles should be 
driven in the right lane. This 
allows faster moving vehicles to 
pass more safely on the left. 

Whenever four or more vehicles 
are lined up behind you, you 

must pull over as soon as it is safe and let them 
pass. Use turnouts on the side of the road, rest 
areas or parking lots. 
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OBEY SPEED SIGNS 
• Always drive at a speed that is safe

for conditions.

• Know how fast you are going.
Check the speedometer often. You
may be going faster than you think.

• Obey speed limit and warning signs
to slow down.

• Slow down at curves, hills, and
road construction.

Drivers cannot see as far at night. 
SLOW DOWN. The speed limit is 
slower at night: 65 mph on state 
highways and 55 mph for heavy 
trucks.  

Slow down and drive carefully 
around curves and when crossing 
intersections and railroad tracks. 

Slow down to the recommended 
safe speed when coming to the 
top of a hill where you can’t see 
what is on the other side. 
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ADJUSTING SPEED TO DRIVING CONDITIONS 
Montana is a rural state with hundreds of miles of unpaved, 
gravel roads. It is harder to stop on gravel, just like it’s 
harder to stop on icy, snowy roads, especially if you are 
driving too fast. Loose gravel and ice can cause your vehicle 
to lose traction and control.  

Fog 
Blowing dust, smoke and fog make it hard to see the road 
and other vehicles. Use low beam headlights, slow down 
and listen for other traffic. Watch for the white fog line on 
the edge of paved roads. 

Water on the Roadway 
Driving is most dangerous at the beginning a rainstorm 
because there is still a slippery film of oil on the road, 
reducing traction. 

When water is on the road your tires 
may be floating on a film of water. This is 
called hydroplaning. 

Worn tire tread can cause hydroplaning 
and skidding, making it harder to stop. 

When the pavement is wet: 

• Slow down.

• Put windshield wipers on.

• Turn on your headlights.

• If water is across the road, do not try to drive through it until you know how
deep it is. Turn around, don’t drown!

• NEVER use cruise control when the road is wet or icy.

Read more about winter driving and skid control in Chapter 7.  

Slow down on gravel 
roads and in fog. 
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Drive at a speed where you can always safely STOP. 

Use the 4-second rule to check if you are following a car too closely or driving too 
fast for conditions. 

1. Pick out a fixed point like a tree, telephone pole or sign as far ahead as you can
clearly see.

2. Start counting one-thousand-one when the car ahead has passed it.

3. If you pass your tree, pole or sign before you finish counting one-thousand-four,
you need to slow down. You are driving too fast for conditions and for your sight
distance.

Following too close—tailgating— 
is DANGEROUS. Keep your 
distance and take it easy. 

You must not follow other cars too closely or 
drive faster than the distance you can see. It’s 
not safe and you could crash and injure or kill 
yourself or others. 
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FOLLOWING DISTANCE 
Drivers have the most control over the 
space directly in front of the vehicle.  
The faster you go, the more space you 
should have in front of your vehicle. 

3-Second Following Distance: May be
enough time to steer away from a
problem on dry surfaces or brake at
speeds up to 45 mph.

4-Second Following Distance: You
have time to steer out of a problem on dry surfaces and brake out of a problem at
speeds up to 70 mph.

10-Second Following Distance: You have time to steer around a problem and slow to
stop on ice and snow.

STOPPING DISTANCE 
A moving car cannot be stopped right away. Even if you step on the brakes, the car 
will still move for some distance. This is called the stopping distance. 

• Traveling at 55 mph, the stopping distance is 186 feet. That is about half a
block.  At 70 mph, stopping distance is at least 381 feet.

• If the driver is slow getting his foot on the brake, the stopping distance is
longer.

• If the road is made of gravel, is icy or wet, or you are going downhill, it may be
very hard to stop the car and you might slide or spin out of control.

A safe stopping distance depends on speed, the driver’s reaction time, and road and 
weather conditions. 

Perception Distance + Reaction Distance + Braking Distance = Stopping Distance 

SEE a hazard + APPLY brakes + SLOW down =  

One of the vehicles on this two-lane highway is 
at a safe following distance and one is not.  
Which one is the safer driver? 
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CHANGING LANES 
When you change lanes you move from 
one lane to another, merge onto a roadway 
from an entrance ramp, or leave a stopped 
position at a curb or shoulder of the road. 

HOW TO CHANGE LANES: 
1. Check traffic in your front and rear.

2. Use mirrors and turn your head.

3. Look for drivers wanting to enter the
same lane.

4. Use turn signal.

5. If clear, steer smoothly to the new lane. If not clear, wait for a safe gap.

6. Change one lane at a time. Do not cross several lanes at once.

7. Go with the flow of traffic in the new lane.

What NOT to do when changing lanes: 

• DO NOT change lanes unless absolutely necessary.
• DO NOT weave back and forth between lanes.
• DO NOT change lanes in intersections or curves.

USING LEFT LANES 
You may drive in the left lane only if: 

• You are on a divided road with two
or more lanes going the same way.

• The right lane is closed and you are
following a detour.

• You are passing and will return
to the right lane.

Always drive in the middle of your lane. Look at least one block ahead in town and 
at least three blocks ahead on the highway.  

Light gray areas in the illustration indicate a 
driver’s blind spots in their mirrors.  Always 
turn your head to check traffic next to you. 
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DON’T BE A “LANE WEAVER”

Drivers who weave in and out of lanes are aggressive 
and dangerous. A lane weaver cuts in on other drivers 
and gets in everyone’s way. The lane weaver may be a 
show-off. 

Some lane weavers change lanes in an intersection. 
This is illegal and dangerous. 

AVOID lane weavers. Give them plenty of room to get 
by and out of your way. 

Other drivers may report lane weavers to law 
enforcement if they think they are dangerous. 

PASSING 
• Vehicles are driven on the

right side of the roadway.

• Drive in the middle of your
lane.

• DO NOT cross centerline
unless overtaking and passing.

• DO NOT cross solid centerline
when it is in your lane.

• NEVER cross double or solid
center lines.

You MUST NOT pass any other vehicle 
in your lane when you are driving in a 
No Passing Zone. 
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Don’t take chances in the No Passing Zone. 
No passing is allowed within 100 feet of hill crests, curves, intersections, railroad 
crossings, bridges, and tunnels because other drivers can’t see you coming and you 
can’t see them.  

Watch for road signs and 
do what they say. 

Don’t risk a head-on collision or running off the side 
of the road in No Passing Zones.  
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INTERSTATE HIGHWAY DRIVING 
Interstate highways are different than state highways because you can only enter 
and exit them using special ramps. Vehicles are traveling at speeds up to 80 mph, so 
you need to know how to merge safely onto the highway. 

Entering and merging onto the Interstate highway: 

Use the merging entrance lane to increase your speed so you can 
join faster moving traffic on the highway. 

Before you merge from the highway entrance, check traffic by 
looking in your mirrors and over your left shoulder.  Don’t stop 
except to avoid a collision with an oncoming vehicle. 

When you are on the highway, watch for vehicles merging ahead. 
As you drive, always look ahead. When you see a driver entering the highway on an 
entrance ramp, make it easier for them by slowing down or moving to the left lane. 
You have the right of way on the highway, but can create more space and move over 
if it is safe to do so. 

Driving Safely on the Interstate Highway
Always drive with the flow of traffic and no slower than 45 mph, unless you are 
being directed through a construction zone with posted speed signs. 
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• Scan the road ahead and check
your mirrors often to watch
traffic behind.

• Keep your following distance.
When driving at higher speeds,
you should be at least four
seconds behind a vehicle you are following. With more distance, you have
more time to react to possible hazards and avoid a crash.

Exiting the Interstate Highway 
An exit ramp is a one-way road allowing safe easy exit off the freeway. 
You must watch all signs in order to get off the highway at the correct 
place. Make sure you are in the right lane. Signal, check mirrors and get 
into the exit lane (usually on the right).  

Look for the exit speed sign on the exit ramp. After entering the exit 
ramp, begin slowing down to a safe speed. 

NEVER slow down suddenly on the highway. You could cause a crash! 

As this image 
shows, begin to 
reduce your 
speed when you 
enter the exit 
ramp so you 
don’t block 
traffic in the 
highway lanes. 

If you miss the exit, do NOT stop and back up.  
Go to the next exit and get off.  
Re-enter the freeway to drive back to where you 
want to get off.  
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IF YOU HAVE A 
TAILGATER…  

• Keep at least 4 seconds of
following distance to the front.

• Avoid sudden moves and speed
changes.

• Communicate to other drivers what you plan do. Use your turn signals.
• Slow down gradually. Pull over to the right in a safe location and allow the

driver to pass.

DON’T HANG OUT IN THE NO-ZONE! 
If you can’t see the truck driver’s face in their side view 
mirror, they can’t see YOU. 

• Rear no-zone: Truck drivers can’t see directly behind
the truck for at least 200 feet.

• Never tailgate a large truck. The driver will never see
you there.

• Front no-zone: Stay at least 10 car lengths in front of
the vehicle. Trucks need long distances to stop.

• Side no-zones: Do not stay in the side no-zones. The
truck driver won’t see you when they change lanes
and wind can blow trucks over.

• Wide right turns: Large trucks make wide right turns
by swinging out to the left to allow room for the right
turn.

Strong winds can blow over trucks. 
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MOTORCYCLE AND BICYCLE SAFETY 
Motorcyclists and 
bicyclists have the right 
to ride on roads and 
highways.  

They are required to 
obey all traffic laws. 

When passing a bicycle 
or motorcycle, move 
into another lane as you 
would when passing a slower car 
or farm vehicle.  

Slow down and wait for oncoming 
vehicles to pass so you can give at 
least 5 feet of space to people on 
motorcycles and bicycles.  

Do not return to your lane until 
clear of the motorcycle or bicycle. 
Riders may be traveling faster than 
you expect or they may swerve to 
avoid an object on the road. 

Turning vehicles must yield to motorcycles, bicyclists, cars and pedestrians. 
Wait for cyclists to go through the intersection before you turn.  
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CITY DRIVING 
You need your full attention to drive in 
city traffic. The number of possible 
hazards is higher in cities and towns 
because there are more vehicles, 
pedestrians and bicyclists. You have 
more intersections and streets with 
more lanes. 

Lower your speed to have time to react in crowded spaces like school zones, 
shopping centers, parking lots, and downtown areas. The speed limit in residential 
areas is 25 mph unless another speed limit is posted. 

• Always keep your eyes moving. Look twice.

• Watch for signs, bicycles, motorcycles,
pedestrians, and other vehicles.

• Do not stare straight ahead. Look carefully in all
directions. Turn your head to look. Remember to
use your mirrors.

• If you need to check a map or talk on a cell
phone, pull over and park.
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Chapter 5 Quiz - Driving Safely 
Directions: Choose only one answer. 

1. At dusk or on overcast days, you should:
A. Turn on your headlights so other drivers can see your vehicle.
B. Turn on your windshield wipers.
C. Drive with your parking lights on.
D. Use caution and drive 25 mph.

2. In order to avoid sudden braking, or the need to turn, your following distance in
traffic should be at least:

A. 2 seconds ahead of your vehicle.
B. 4 seconds ahead of your vehicle.
C. 10 seconds ahead of your vehicle.
D. 15 seconds ahead of your vehicle.

3. Driving at night requires increased caution because:
A. Traffic is faster at night.
B. There is a larger volume of traffic at night.
C. A driver cannot see as well at night.
D. Crashes occur more frequently at night.

4. The speed limit in a town or city, unless otherwise posted, is:
A. 25 miles per hour.
B. There is no speed limit.
C. 30 miles per hour.
D. 45 miles per hour.

5. “Hydroplaning” is best described as:
A. Tires pushing water out of their paths.
B. Tires actually floating on a film of water.
C. Tires are causing sheets of water to splash on passing vehicles.
D. Tires throwing water to the rear, causing problems for following vehicles.
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6. A solid yellow line on your side of the road means:
A. Be careful before passing.
B. You may pass.
C. Do not cross the center line.
D. You are approaching a curve.

7. The four-second rule helps a driver know:
A. How much time it takes to pass.
B. How long it should take to turn a corner.
C. How closely to follow another vehicle.
D. When to turn on headlights.

8. When a driver passes you honking her horn, you should:
A. Wave
B. Make sure everyone in the car has fastened their safety belt.
C. Give her room to pass
D. Speed up

9. How far ahead should you signal in the city?
A. 300 feet
B. One block
C. 50 feet
D. 100 feet

10. What should you do in a vehicle with an automatic transmission before
shifting to Drive?

A. Use your turn signals
B. Check your mirrors and fuel gauge.
C. Press down on the brake.
D. Check the tire pressure.

11. When you approach a YIELD sign, you must slow to:
A. A reasonable speed
B. 5 mph
C. 20 mph
D. Come to a complete stop.
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12. How far ahead should you signal in the country?
A. 300 feet
B. 1,000 feet
C. 1/4 mile
D. 50 feet

13. What factor should not be considered when deciding how fast to drive?
A. Weather.
B. Road conditions.
C. Time of favorite TV show.
D. Traffic.

14. If you miss your exit off the highway, you should:
A. Drive to the next exit.
B. Make a U-turn.
C. Stop and wait for a green light.
D. Yield to traffic entering the highway.

15. It is permissible to exceed the speed limit to pass on a two-lane road:
A. At no time.
B. If you are in a hurry.
C. If you only exceed the speed limit by 10 mph.
D. If the solid yellow line is in your lane.

16. When you see a bicyclist riding in the same direction, what should
you do?

A. Pass the cyclist even if another vehicle is coming from the other
direction.

B. Slow down and wait until it is safe to pass, moving over at least five feet
when passing.

C. Honk your horn to tell the cyclist to move out of your way.
D. Pass the cyclist in the same traffic lane without moving over.
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17. When a bicyclist is traveling in your lane and you need to make a right turn:
A. You may turn right in front of the bicyclist.
B. The bicyclist must wait and allow you to make your turn.
C. Let the bicyclist pass before making your turn.
D. The bicyclist should be riding on the sidewalk.

18. At railroad crossings:
A. Always sound your horn.
B. Stop if you see a train or you have a question about safety.
C. Hurry so you can beat the train.
D. Stop only if there is a stop sign.

19. When pulling out from a parallel parking place you should:
A. Look and signal.
B. Hurry to not interfere with traffic.
C. Wait until no car is within three blocks.
D. Wait for a green light.

HOW DID YOU DO? 
Check the correct answers on page 132. 
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Chapter 6 – Safe Driver Readiness 
Are you ready to drive? Or are you too impaired to drive?

 Vision & Hearing

 Distractions

 Drowsy Driving

 Drinking & Driving

 Other Drugs & Driving

 Health & Emotions

YOU ARE IMPAIRED: 
• WHEN VERY TIRED: You can make bad driving 

decisions or fall asleep at the wheel. Stop and 
rest when you are too tired to stay in your lane 
or can’t remember the last few miles driven.

• WHEN DRINKING ALCOHOL: Your reflexes slow 
down, you
can’t see well, and it’s against the law.

• WHEN USING DRUGS and MEDICATIONS: They 
can make
you sleepy or too jumpy, you can’t see well, 
and you could
make wrong choices, like running a stop sign.                                             
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• WHEN VERY SICK: You need to rest and get 
well. When you are sick you can’t concentrate 
on good driving and might take medications 
that make you drowsy.

• WHEN ANGRY, UPSET or STRESSED: Your
feelings can keep you from driving safely.
Make sure you’re calm and focused when you
drive.



DISTRACTED DRIVING  
When you are distracted, you are 
impaired. ALWAYS keep your eyes on 
the road and your hands on the wheel. 

• Plan ahead. Check maps, music and
vehicle controls before you drive.

• Take care of phone calls, makeup and eating before
or after you drive.

• Put your phone or hand-held device out of reach.

• Install an app on your phone that tells people you are
driving and will call them back later.

It can wait!  Hang up and drive.

WHY RISK IT? 
You can wait to: 
 Talk, text or check a cell

phone.

 Use a computer tablet or
pad.

 Look at a map or GPS
device.

 Eat or drink.

 Reach for something on the
floor or the back seat.

 Apply makeup or shave.

 Care for children or pets.

 Change music or radio.

 Adjust vehicle controls, like
air conditioning.
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SEEING WELL 
Good eyesight is needed for safe driving. 

Driving decisions are based on what you see. 
You need to clearly see signs and other 
traffic. You need to look for bad road 
conditions and problems ahead so you can 
react in time to avoid a crash. 

Montana law says you must pass a vision 
test with glasses or without them before you 
can get a driver license.  

If you need them, wear your glasses!  You should have your eyes checked every two 
years by an eye doctor. If you need to wear glasses or contact lenses for driving 
remember to wear them when you drive. 

Don’t wear dark glasses at night. But do wear them during the 
day if the glare from the sun makes it hard to see well. 

Keep your windshield, mirrors, headlights and windows clear 
and clean. 

HEARING WELL 
Good hearing helps you drive safely. 

NEVER drive wearing headphones or 
ear buds. Keep the radio or music 
volume low so you can hear horns, 
sirens or screeching tires. 

Drivers who are deaf or have hearing 
problems can learn to be safe drivers. 
They rely more on vision and other 
senses to stay alert and informed.  
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DROWSY DRIVING 
You need to sleep or you won’t be able to drive safely. 

Drowsy driving is dangerous because you are not alert and 
can’t see as well. It takes longer to decide what to do.  

When you are tired, you are more likely to make mistakes, 
like not “seeing” the stop sign or thinking you have a safe 
gap to make a left turn.  

Driving on long, straight highways can cause something called “highway hypnosis,” 
when you can’t remember the last few miles you drove. This can make you fall asleep 
at the wheel and can cause off-road crashes. 

How do you know if you are too tired to drive? 

• Yawning.

• Can’t keep eyes open.

• Drifting out of your lane.

• You hear or feel the center or side rumble strips.

• Can’t remember the last few miles you drove.

What should you do? 

• Go to the next exit or rest area.

• Park in a safe place and take a nap.

• Get out of the vehicle and walk around.

• Take breaks every two hours on long
trips. Share the driving.

To avoid drowsy driving: 

• Get a good night’s sleep.

• Eat lightly before the trip.

• Try not to drive late at night past your normal bedtime.
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DRUGS AND ALCOHOL 
Drunk and impaired drivers are the number one killer on 
Montana roads.  

Taking drugs or drinking alcohol before you drive affects how 
well you drive. You may not be able to react in time to avoid a 
crash. You may even cause a crash.  

In every state it is against the law for anyone under the age 
of 21 to drink alcohol.  

No one can drink alcohol and drive safely. Using marijuana 
and other drugs can also affect how well you drive. 

Even medicine for colds and allergies, and drugs your doctor 
has prescribed to you, can make you a dangerous driver.  

Drinking and Driving 
We all know drinking and driving is not a good idea. Hard liquor like whiskey and 
gin as well as beer and wine can make you drunk.  

When you are drunk, your judgment is bad and you might think you can drive, 
when you really shouldn’t. Make plans for a sober ride home if you plan to drink. 

Driving while drunk kills.  A DUI can ruin your life. 
Prescription and street drugs can, too. 

Any alcohol in your system will impair your judgment and driving skill. If you drink 
and drive, you may crash, hurt or kill someone or yourself.  

Drivers under the influence of alcohol or drugs can’t 
safely judge distances, speed, and the movement of 
other vehicles. Drunk drivers sometimes drive on the 
wrong side of the road or even go the wrong way on 
the Interstate. They can’t stay in their lane and 
pedestrians on sidewalks have been run down and 
killed by drunk drivers.  
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Drive drunk or drugged and you may BE FINED, 
GO TO JAIL and LOSE YOUR LICENSE. 

• Alcohol affects your vision, reaction time and
judgment.

• One can of beer has as much alcohol as one
ounce of whiskey or one 5 oz. glass of wine.

• Coffee, fresh air, and cold showers do not make
you sober.

• The effects of alcohol take time to wear off.

Not drinking before driving is the BEST 
decision. 

If you have too many drinks or took drugs: 

• Don’t drive.

• Call someone to pick you up.

• Walk, but only if you think you will be safe.

• Call a cab or take a bus.

• Stay where you are.

• Lock your car and give the keys to a friend.

• Find a ride home with someone else.

• Come back and get your car when you are sober.

It takes at least ONE hour for your body to get rid of each drink. 
Coffee, fresh air, exercise or cold showers will not help. You 
should not drive until you are sober. 

Don’t drive impaired. Don’t drink and drive.  
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Alcohol and Montana Law 
No open alcoholic containers are allowed in your 
vehicle. Put open bottles, cans or alcohol containers in 
the trunk or locked storage. 

You are not allowed to buy or consume alcohol unless 
you are 21 years of age or older. 

If you are arrested for drinking and driving, the penalties are severe. 

You can be arrested for driving with a blood alcohol 
concentration (BAC) of 0.08% or more, or while driving under the 
influence (DUI). The DUI law for drivers under the age of 21 is a 
BAC of 0.02%—much less than what is allowed for older drivers. 

BAC is the percentage of alcohol in your blood, and is usually 
determined by a breath, blood, or urine test. 

The Breathalyzer Test 
You might be pulled over if you are driving too fast or too slow, or 
not staying in your lane. The police officer might suspect you are 
driving under the influence of alcohol and will want to test your BAC. 

If you are asked by law enforcement to take a breathalyzer test, you 
must take it. If you refuse, your driver license will be suspended for 
6 months.   

If you are found guilty of an alcohol violation, and it is your first conviction, you will 
be fined up to $1,000, plus court charges. You could be sentenced up to 6 months in 
jail and your license will be suspended. Repeat offenders can expect to pay more, 
serve more prison time, and have court-ordered treatment and restrictions.  

For a second conviction your vehicle can be taken away. 

Arrive alive. Don’t drink and drive. 
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HEALTH AND EMOTIONS 
Health problems can make you an unsafe 
driver. A bad cold, cough, virus, stiff neck or 
sore leg can affect how well you drive. If you 
don’t feel well, try to get someone else to 
drive. 

Prescription medications can impair your 
ability to drive safely. Drug warnings about 
operating heavy machinery mean do not drive 
your car or truck.  

SOME HEALTH PROBLEMS 
CAN BE DANGEROUS. 
EPILEPSY - If you have epilepsy, it needs to be 
kept under medical control.  

DIABETES – People with diabetes should not drive if there is any chance of an insulin 
reaction or blackout. These things can happen if diabetics skip a meal or don’t take 
insulin correctly. If your doctor is changing your insulin dosage, you should have 
someone else drive. Diabetics should have their eyes checked regularly for possible 
night blindness and other vision problems. Diabetics should always check their blood 
sugar level before getting behind the wheel. 

HEART CONDITION – People with heart disease, high blood pressure 
or circulation problems might have a higher risk of fainting. Ask your 
doctor if your heart disease could affect your driving. 

OUT-OF-CONTROL EMOTIONS – You may not be able 
to drive well when you feel worried, depressed, angry 
or afraid. Stress can lessen your concentration on the 
driving task and emotions can affect your ability to 
drive safely. 

Keep your mind on your driving.  
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CHAPTER 6 QUIZ – SAFE DRIVER READINESS 
Directions: Choose only one answer. 

1. Your body gets rid of:
A. Three alcoholic drinks an hour.
B. One alcoholic drink an hour.
C. Two alcoholic drinks an hour.
D. None of the above.

2. At what Blood Alcohol Concentration (BAC) does Montana law state that it is
unlawful to drive a motor vehicle?

A. 0.00%
B. 0.08%
C. 0.10%
D. All of the above.

3. If you feel drowsy when driving, it is a good idea to:
A. Stop to rest every two hours.
B. Do arm exercises every hour.
C. Drive with one eye open at all times.
D. Change feet on the gas pedal.

4. The main reason why drinking alcohol and then driving is so dangerous is that
it affects your:

A. Coordination.
B. Vision.
C. Judgment and skill.
D. Reflexes.

5. Emotions can affect your driving by:
A. Lessening your concentration on the driving task.
B. Decreasing your chances of an accident.
C. Causing you to go to sleep at the wheel.
D. Making you more aware of others around you.
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6. What is the number one killer on Montana’s roads?
A. Poor or unmaintained roads.
B. Bad weather and driving conditions.
C. Drunk and impaired drivers.
D. Excessive speed.

7. Explain how to avoid drowsy driving.
A. Get a good night’s rest.
B. Preplan your trip and share the driving.
C. Don’t drive when you would normally be asleep.
D. All of the above.

8. The first skill lost by a driver under the influence of alcohol is:
A. Confidence.
B. Reaction time.
C. Judgment.
D. Braking

9. Alcohol is removed from your body by:
A. Exercising.
B. Time only.
C. Drinking lots of coffee.
D. Taking a cold shower.

10. Why is it dangerous to drive distracted?
A. Our ability to multi-task is a myth.
B. In the time it takes to read a text, there is no one driving the car.
C. There are many unexpected hazards, such as a child on a bicycle or deer

in the road, to take the risk of looking away for just a few seconds.
D. All of the above.

HOW DID YOU DO? 
Check the correct answers on page 132. 
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Chapter 7 – Emergencies & Collisions 
 Vehicle Emergencies

• Brakes Fail
• Tire Blowout or Flat
• Headlights Stop Working
• Engine Quits
• Gas Pedal Sticks
• Engine on Fire
• Vehicle Skids
• Run off the Road

 Summer Driving

 Winter Driving
• Snow Plows

 Avoiding Collisions
• Watch for Wildlife

 Why Crashes Happen
• What to do if you are in a crash
• Reporting a vehicle crash
• The Crash Report Form
• Why you must have liability insurance

 Law Enforcement Stops

VEHICLE EMERGENCIES 
There is always a chance of vehicle emergencies when 
you drive.  

Keep your vehicle maintained and you will avoid 
problems.  

Your vehicle owner’s manual can tell you what to do when a warning light comes on, 
the engine quits, or you hear a strange sound. 

Know what to do if you are in a collision. 
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Brakes Fail 

• Keep your eyes on where you want your car to go.

• Steer in the direction you want your car to go.

• Quickly pump the brakes several times.

• If that doesn’t work, use the parking brake to slow
or stop. Put it on slowly so you don’t lock the
wheels, causing you to skid.

• If the parking brake doesn’t work, shift to a lower gear.

• Look for a safe place to stop or find a soft crash
area.

• If necessary, get your car off the road. Call for help.

• Don’t drive until the brakes are fixed!

Tire Blowout or Flat 

• Hold the steering wheel tightly with both hands.

• Steer where you want the car to go.

• Slow down. Take your foot off the gas.

• Stay off the brakes until you are almost stopped.

• Find a safe place to pull off the road.

• Call for help or change the tire.

Do you know how to change a tire? It’s a good skill to 
have. Make sure your car has a jack, lug wrench, and your 
spare tire has enough air pressure. Before you leave on a 
trip, read your vehicle owner’s manual for instructions on 
changing a tire. 
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Headlights Stop Working 

• Stay calm, let your eyes adjust. Locate the
white fog line or curb.

• Try the light switch a few times. If that
doesn’t work, put on the high beams, 4-way
flashers, turn signals or fog lights.

• Begin braking and pull off the road when it is
safe.

• Before you take the car out again, replace the headlight bulbs.

Engine Quits 

• This could happen when the engine becomes flooded,
overheats or is simply out of gas.

• Keep a strong grip on the steering wheel. The car may be
hard to steer, but it can be done.

• Stay off the brake or brake lightly. You may need the momentum to pull off the
road.

• Don’t touch the key. If you turn the
power off, you might lose other vehicle
functions, like power brakes.

• Pull safely off the road.

• If the power quits, your brakes will
work but you will have to push hard on
the pedal.
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Gas Pedal Sticks 
If the engine keeps going faster and faster this could be 
caused by a broken spring or the gas pedal being stuck in 
the down position. You should shift to neutral and apply 
steady pressure on the brake. 

• Watch the road!

• Shift to neutral.

• Search for an escape path.

• Steer smoothly and brake gently.

• Pull off the road when it is safe.

• Turn off the engine.

• DO NOT reach down to pull the stuck pedal up
until stopped.

Engine on Fire 
If the car catches on fire from fuel leaks or 
electrical problems, act quickly!  

• Steer the vehicle out of traffic and away
from buildings and people.

• Turn off the ignition. Get out of the vehicle.

• Get all passengers out of the vehicle immediately and move
away.

• Do not open the hood.  Call 911.
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Vehicle Skids or Fishtails 

• Don’t apply the brakes.

• Use your steering wheel.

• Look and steer where you want to go.

• Ease off the gas pedal to slow down.

• When you have regained control, slow down and 
stop in a safe place.

Drift or Run Off the Road 
Drifting off the road is often caused by fatigue 
and distractions.  

You might feel the rumble strips on the side of 
the highway warning you to stay in your lane.  

If you go off the road you need to take your 
foot off the gas. When slowed down, steer back 
on the road when safe. 

• Don’t panic. Look where you want to go.

• Reduce speed to about 10 mph without
using the brakes. Stop if you can.

• Steer the vehicle so that it straddles the
roadway edge. (See right.)

• Turn the steering wheel no more than a
quarter turn to return to the right lane.

If your right wheel drops off the 
edge, take your foot off the gas. 
When you are slowed down, ease 
back on the road when safe. 
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SUMMER DRIVING 
To cool an overheating engine: 

Stop the vehicle when the warning light comes on or the 
gauge shows a hot temperature.  

• Turn the heater on high to pull heat from the engine.

• Turn the engine off and open the hood.

• When it cools down enough to open the radiator, add
coolant. Check hoses for leaks.

Caution: Opening a hot radiator may cause severe steam burns.

Prevent overheating! Prepare the vehicle to take the stress 
of high temperatures in the summer. Drive in the cooler 
parts of the day. Take breaks on long drives.  

• Check tire air pressure.

• Check the air conditioner.

• Check engine coolant, hoses and belts.

• Prevent heat stroke!  Never EVER leave a child or pet in a parked car in
summer heat. The outside temperature in the 80’s can quickly bring a car’s
interior to more than 140°F.

• Cracking the windows or parking in the shade does not cool a car down
enough.

• Check to make sure that all children are out of the vehicle when parking.

• Don't forget the sleeping baby buckled in their car seat in the back.

• Always keep your vehicle locked. Children have died from heat stroke when
they got inside a car to play and didn’t know how to get out.
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WINTER DRIVING 
Always pack food, water, a first aid kit, shovel and blankets or a sleeping bag when 
you plan a long trip, especially in winter and if you are traveling through the 
mountains. 

Driving in snow, fog or rain: 

• Slow down. Take it easy.

• Turn your headlights on
low beam and stop in a
safe place if you cannot
see the roadway.

• If there is a lot of snow,
you might need winter
tires or tire chains.

• Turn on your windshield
wipers, if needed.

• Use your defogger to keep
the windows clear.

• Increase your following
distance.

If your vehicle gets stuck in the snow: 

• Don’t panic. STAY IN THE CAR. You are more likely to be found. Keep a window
slightly open.

• Try to start the car or set out flares to
attract attention to your stuck vehicle.

• Run your engine and heater sparingly to
save gas. Move your arms and legs.

• When running the engine to keep warm,
clear snow away from the exhaust pipe.
This will keep toxic gases out of the vehicle.

• Mountain passes can sometimes have winter conditions in fall and spring, so
always be prepared for snow and ice when driving in the mountains.

Keep a winter survival kit in your vehicle at all times. 
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Respect Snow Plows – Drive Slow in Snow 
Snow plows clear snow and ice from the road and apply gravel to increase traction.
  Montana plows may now have green flashing lights. 

NEVER pass a snow plow.  Slow plows on the 
highway usually move at slower speeds than 
traffic. Be sure to look ahead and plan to slow 
down behind a snow plow. 

Wing plows are 8-feet wide. Plow drivers may not 
see you in the blowing snow and drivers can’t see 
the road ahead. 

The TowPlow, shown above, is a plow that is 
pulled behind a snowplow truck to clear snow 
from two lanes of roadway. 

Around snow plows: 

• Slow down and stay behind
the snowplow. Allow at
least 5 car lengths between
the vehicle and the
snowplow.

• Be aware of icy conditions
on surfaces such as bridge
decks and entrance and
exit ramps.

• Drive with headlights on
and turn off cruise control
on snowy and icy roads.

TOWPLOW 
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AVOIDING COLLISIONS 
Most of the time you can do things that will keep you from having a crash. There are 
three things you can do that will help you avoid a crash: STOP, SPEED UP or TURN. 

Stopping Fast 
Most new cars have anti-lock brakes (ABS).  ABS keeps the wheels from locking up, 
helping to prevent skidding. When you need to stop quickly: 

• With ABS Brakes
Push the brake pedal as hard as you can and hold it
down. Keep pushing on the pedal, don’t let up. ABS
brakes will vibrate and be noisy. ABS will only work
when the brake pedal is pushed down hard and kept
there.

• Without ABS Brakes
Push on the brake pedal as hard as you can without locking up the wheels. You
can skid if the wheels lock up. If that happens, let off the brakes a little. When
the car stops skidding, brake again. Keep doing this until the car stops. While
skidding, steer in the direction you want your car to go.

Speeding Up 
Sometimes you can keep from crashing by speeding up. This 
will work if another car is about to hit you from the side or 
from behind. If there is room in front of you, speed up. Be 
sure to slow down once the danger is gone. 

Turning Quickly 
Most of the time you can turn your car faster than you can 
stop. You should think about turning in order to keep from 
crashing. Have a firm grip on the steering wheel. Steer in the 
direction you want your car to go. 

Keep your car under control after you turn or change lanes. If you steer away from a 
possible crash, you could end up in another crash! Don’t swerve into a lane with cars 
coming at you. Turn to the right. It is better to run off the road than to hit another 
car head-on.   
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Watch for Wildlife 

• Reduce your speed in
animal crossing areas
and look far ahead.

• Scan roadsides and
ditches for approaching
animals.

• Use high beams at
night when there is no
oncoming traffic.

• Pay special attention to
areas around wildlife crossing signs. Where there is one
animal, expect more to follow.

• If a herd is on the road, stop and let the herd clear the road.

• If a crash with an animal can’t be avoided, you can reduce
impact by hitting it as you steer away slightly, while staying in
your lane.

• Do not swerve!  It’s better to hit an animal than to crash head-
on into another vehicle or go off the road. Slow down and brake.

• Don’t approach or touch a wounded animal. Call the Montana Highway Patrol
at (855) 647-3777. However, if your vehicle kills an animal, move it off the
road.  Montana law allows motorists to harvest road-killed wildlife.

• If the damage is $1,000 or more, Montana law requires drivers to report the
crash to law enforcement.
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WHY CRASHES HAPPEN 
Most crashes happen because of driver errors. 
We all make mistakes when we drive and some errors are worse than others. You 
may not always be able to avoid a crash. Pay attention to your driving and try 
everything you can to keep from crashing or getting hit.  

ALWAYS wear your seat belt, even on short trips from home. 

Crashes happen when the driver: 
• Does not signal or communicate intentions.

• Is distracted and not paying attention to the
road.

• Drinks alcohol or takes drugs before driving.

• Does not pay attention to road signs
warning of curves ahead or need to slow
down.

• Drives too fast.

• Follows too close.

• Drives drowsy and falls asleep at the wheel.

Poorly maintained or defective vehicles can 
cause crashes.  

Sometimes bad weather and bad choices lead 
to crashes. 

Most crashes are caused by 
driver errors in  

HUMAN JUDGMENT  
and can be prevented. 
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What to do if you are in a crash: 

• Stop your car. Call 911 for help.

• Give help to anyone who is hurt, but don’t move them.

• If your car can be moved, get it off the road so it does
not block traffic or cause another crash.

• Take pictures and get the names, addresses and license
plate numbers of everyone involved in the crash, and
also any witnesses.

• Give your name, address, car insurance, driver license number, and vehicle
information (make, model, year, and license tag number) to other drivers in
the crash and to the police.

The driver of a vehicle involved in a crash MUST STOP. 

Reporting a Vehicle Crash 
Parked vehicle – If you hit a parked car, you must try and find the owner. You should 
leave a note with your name and address on the car with the date and time of the 
accident. 

If anyone is hurt or killed or there is 
apparent property damage, 
immediately call police.   

The police will: 

• render any necessary first aid,

• investigate and determine the
cause of the crash, and

• protect your property against theft or further damage from another crash.

If you were NOT involved, do not stop, unless a police officer or flagger tells you to, 
or your help is needed. Move over to another lane to pass the crash site if you can do 
so safely.  
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The Crash Report Form 
In a vehicle crash where damage totals over $1,000, or someone 
is hurt or killed, each driver must fill out a written report to the 
highway patrol unless an investigating officer fills out the accident 
report. 

Failure to report a crash could lead to driver license suspension. 
The report must be made within 10 days. The report form can be obtained from any 
police, sheriff or patrol officer. 

Anyone who is convicted of leaving the scene of a crash that they were involved in 
will have their driver license revoked. 

Vehicle Liability Insurance is Required 
Montana law requires vehicle liability insurance. Every vehicle owner or operator 
must be insured for a minimum of: 

• $10,000 for property damage;
• $25,000 for injuries or death for one person; AND
• $50,000 for bodily injury or death of two persons in any one crash.

You can pay more for additional insurance coverage. Your proof of insurance card 
must be in your vehicle.  You may be fined if you do not carry liability insurance. 

LAW ENFORCEMENT STOPS 
If a law enforcement officer pulls you over: 

• Move your vehicle to the right shoulder
of the road – use your turn signal.

• Stay inside your vehicle unless the officer
tells you to step out.

• Follow the officer’s directions.

• Keep your hands on the steering wheel in clear view.  Tell your passengers to
stay quiet and keep hands visible; for example, on top of their lap.
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Chapter 7 Quiz – Emergencies & Collisions 
Directions: Choose only one answer. 

1. What should you do if your car’s right wheels leave the pavement?
A. Stop quickly.
B. Pull all the way off and wait until it is safe to get back on the road.
C. Accelerate and steer back on the road quickly.
D. Take your foot off the gas and when you are slowed down ease back on

the road when it is safe to do so.

2. What should you do if your gas pedal sticks while driving?
A. Reach down and attempt to pull it up.
B. Shift to park.
C. Shift to neutral and apply steady pressure on the brake.
D. Turn the engine off.

3. When approaching a crash scene, you should:
A. Keep your attention on driving.
B. Keep moving.
C. Stop if you are involved or if emergency help has not arrived.
D. All of the above.

4. When involved in a collision as a driver:
A. Do not exchange information with other drivers.
B. Exchange all information with other drivers.
C. Deny responsibility for the accident.
D. Let the other driver report the accident.

5. If involved in a collision, a driver should:
A. Stop their vehicle at or near the scene.
B. Do not stand or walk in traffic lanes.
C. Turn off the ignition of wrecked vehicle(s).
D. All of the above.
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6. If you become stranded in a snow storm, the best thing to do is:
A. Get out of the car and go for help.
B. Lay down in the car and go to sleep.
C. Keep the windows rolled up tight.
D. Stay in the car, as you are more likely to be found.

7. Every driver must have proof of vehicle liability insurance:
A. In the vehicle when driving.
B. At home in a safe place.
C. For $1,000.
D. All of the above.

8. Most traffic crashes are caused by:
A. Mechanical failures.
B. Poor driver judgment.
C. Bad roads.
D. Snow storms.

9. If your car goes into a skid, you should:
A. Not apply the brakes.
B. Release the gas pedal.
C. Steer in the direction you want to go.
D. All of the above.

10. If you are involved in a crash and leave the crash scene:
A. Your license can be suspended or revoked.
B. You may be fined up to $20.
C. It is all right if you are in a hurry.
D. Let the other driver report the crash.

11. When driving at night in fog or snow, you should:
A. Use high beams.
B. Use low beams.
C. Stop until the road clears.
D. Drive faster than the speed limit.
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12. If you have a flat tire when driving at highway speed, you should:
A. Hit the brakes.
B. Start pulling off the road as you slow down.
C. Hold the steering wheel with one hand.
D. Drive to the next exit.

13. If you run off the pavement, you should:
A. Grip the steering wheel firmly.
B. Slow before steering back on the pavement.
C. Take your foot off the gas.
D. All of the above.

14. You must obey all traffic signs:
A. If you have 15 points on your record.
B. At all times.
C. If you see a police officer.
D. Only on weekends.

HOW DID YOU DO? 
Check the correct answers on page 132. 
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Chapter 8 – Driving Record & Penalties 
The privilege and the responsibility of keeping your license belongs to you. 

YOUR DRIVING RECORD 
Your driving record starts with your first driver 
license. From year to year and from state to state 
your driving record is for life.  

Your driving record is used: 

• To see if your driver license is valid.

• By states and insurance companies to see
how safely you drive.

• For background checks when you apply for
a job.

• To permanently record all your traffic tickets from all states.

Your driving record will be sent to you upon request for a fee. You can also download 
your driving record for a small fee at the Motor Vehicle Division (MVD) web site: 
http://www.dojmt.gov/driving.  If you have any questions, call the MVD Call Center at 
(406) 444-3933.
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Drive Safely 
Follow the Rules of the Road 

KEEP YOUR DRIVING RECORD CLEAN! 



TRAFFIC VIOLATIONS AND PENALTIES 
If you are guilty of violating traffic laws, you may have 
to pay the traffic ticket, court costs and your vehicle 
insurance might cost more.  

Many drivers get into serious trouble because they 
do not understand or inform themselves of the legal 
responsibilities of having a license. 

Your driver license can be suspended, revoked or cancelled. 

LICENSE SUSPENSION 
A suspended license has been temporarily withdrawn 
 and means the driver is not allowed to drive until the suspension is over.  Sometimes 
the driver can get a restricted license only to drive to school or work.  

Reasons for License Suspension: 

• The driver is convicted of Driving Under the Influence of alcohol or drugs (DUI).

• The driver refuses to complete a required alcohol test.

• The driver has been in a serious crash where someone is killed or injured.

• A court has ordered a driver license suspension.

LICENSE REVOCATION 
Revoked means the driver license is terminated for at least one year. To get the 
license back, all required fees have to be paid, and tests taken and passed again. 

Reasons for License Revocation: 

• Felony Driving Under the Influence (DUI).

• Manslaughter caused by driving a motor vehicle.

• Any serious crime when a motor vehicle was used.

• Failure to stop and give help when involved in a crash.

• Fleeing from a police officer.

• 30 or more conviction points in three years.
(Other conviction points are listed on page 127)
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LICENSE CANCELLATION 
Cancelled means the license is taken away. To get another license, the driver must 
pay the fee and pass all tests again. To be re-licensed, the driver needs to start over. 

Reasons for License Cancellation: 

• A person gives false information on the application
for a license.

• A person writes a check to get a license and the check bounces if there isn’t
enough money in the bank to cover the check.

• The driver’s parents withdraw their permission for the license.

• A license or privilege to drive is suspended or revoked in another state.

Driving Under the Influence (DUI) 
of Alcohol or Drugs 

• Any alcohol or drugs in your body will affect your
driving.

• Alcohol tests show how much alcohol is in a
driver’s blood.

• When you sign your driver license application you
consent to be tested for blood alcohol
concentration (BAC).

• Anyone arrested for drunken driving (DUI) who
refuses to take an alcohol screening test will have
their license suspended for six months on the first
offense.

The Alcohol Ignition Interlock Program 
Judges can order anyone convicted of a first DUI to install 
an Alcohol Ignition Interlock device. The driver breathes 
into the device and the car will not start when alcohol is 
detected. After a second DUI conviction, your vehicles can 
be taken away.  

24/7 Sobriety Program 
requires twice-daily 
alcohol breath tests for 
DUI offenders. 
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Reckless Driving 
• Reckless driving means driving without

caring.

• A reckless driver drives a vehicle in willful
or wanton disregard for the safety of
persons or property.

• The reckless driver does not care about their own life, the lives of others,
property damage, or safety.

• Reckless drivers are dangerous drivers.

Habitual Traffic Offender Act 
The Habitual Traffic Offender Act is a Montana law that helps protect innocent 
drivers, pedestrians and passengers from reckless and careless drivers. Drivers who 
are careless and reckless break laws and may crash or injure others.  

Habitual Traffic Offenders are NOT ALLOWED to drive for three years. If a Habitual 
Traffic Offender is convicted of driving, he/she could go to jail for up to one year or 
could be fined, or both. 

Drivers with 30 conviction points in three years become Habitual Traffic Offenders. 

CONVICTION POINTS are given for serious offenses like: 
Offense Points 
Deliberate homicide 15 
Negligent vehicular homicide and assault 12 
Other felony 12 
DUI – Driving while intoxicated or drugged with narcotics 10 
Failure to stop and help or give information when involved in a crash 4 or 8 
Driving with your license suspended or revoked 6 
Reckless driving … willful and wanton disregard for safety of persons and property 5 
Illegal drag racing 5 
Car insurance violations 5 
Hit and run 4 
Speeding 3 
No driver license 2 
Other moving violations 2 
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Chapter 8 Quiz – Driver Records & Penalties 
Directions: Choose one answer. 

1. At what Blood Alcohol Concentration (BAC) does Montana law say it is
unlawful to drive a motor vehicle?

A. 0.00%
B. 0.08%
C. 0.10%
D. All of the above.

2. Your driving record is used by:
A. The state and your insurance company to see how safe you drive.
B. The Department of Revenue to see if you have paid taxes.
C. Direct mail companies to establish a mailing list.
D. The Registrar of Motor Vehicles to keep track of the vehicles you own.

3. A reckless driver is a driver who:
A. Drives with a willful and wanton disregard for the safety of others.
B. Drives faster than the speed limit in daytime.
C. Has a crash.
D. Drives carefully.

4. Drivers are declared to be  Habitual Traffic Offenders when they get:
A. 30 points in a one-year period.
B. 15 points in a three-year period.
C. 30 points in a three-year period.
D. 3 speeding tickets.

5. Habitual Traffic Offenders lose their driver license for:
A. 90 days
B. Six months
C. One year
D. Three years
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6. Persons who drive while impaired by alcohol or drugs:
A. Can have their license suspended.
B. May have more expensive car insurance rates.
C. May be put in jail.
D. All of the above.

7. If you refuse to take an alcohol test, you will lose your license for:
A. 60 days.
B. Six months.
C. 90 days.
D. Three months.

HOW DID YOU DO? 
Check the correct answers on page 132. 
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TRUE STATEMENTS REVIEW 
The following are true statements to help you pass the knowledge test and 
get your learner permit. 

1. A yellow unbroken (solid) line on the right-hand side of the
centerline means a no-passing zone.

2. When parking on a hill with a curb, your front wheels
should be turned as follows:
 Downhill – toward the curb.
 Uphill – away from the curb.

3. When your car starts to skid:
 Look where you want to go.
 Ease off the gas pedal.
 Don’t apply the brakes.
 Steer where you want to go.

4. When two vehicles approach an intersection without traffic
signals at the same time, the driver on the left must yield
the right of way to the driver on the right.

5. When preparing for a right turn, signal for at least 100 feet,
check traffic to the rear and drive in the right-hand lane.
Signal 300 feet for turns in rural areas.

6. It is unlawful to park:
 On a sidewalk or bridge.
 Closer than 20 feet to a crosswalk at an intersection.
 Closer than 30 feet to a stop sign, traffic light or flashing

beacon.
 Closer than 15 feet to a fire hydrant.
 Closer than 20 feet to a fire station.
 In front of the entrance to an alley or private driveway.
 In blue handicapped parking spaces where only people

with disabilities who have a special parking permit are
allowed to park.
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7. In school zones slow to 15 mph or other posted speed limit.
Watch for children at all times. Never pass a school bus with
flashing red lights or the stop arm out.

8. A left turn from a one-way street to a one-way street should
be made from the left edge of the road into the left driving
lane next to the curb.  See page 57.

9. A left turn from a two-way street onto a one-way street
should be made from the left lane next to the middle of the
street into the left driving lane next to the curb.

10. The speed limit in a residential district in a city is 25 mph
unless another speed limit is posted.

11. Headlights must be turned on:
 During the hours of darkness,
 From ½ hour after sunset to ½ hour before sunrise,
 Anytime weather conditions make it hard to see, and
 When you are part of a funeral line.

12. It is safest to drive with headlights on day and night
so other drivers can see your vehicle.

13. When you see the flashing lights and/or hear the siren of an
emergency vehicle, you must move to the right and stop.

14. Passing on the right is permitted only:
 When the roadway is wide enough for two cars to move

legally in the same direction; and
 When the car ahead is making a left turn, as long as you

remain on the paved part of the highway.

15. You can be ticketed and fined if you are found not wearing a
seat belt or if any of your passengers are not buckled up.

16. Pay attention to your driving.  Avoid distractions. It is safest
not to text, check or talk on your cell phone or computer
while driving. Park your car in a safe place before you eat,
read, change the music, or reach into the back seat.
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QUIZ ANSWER KEY 
In the pdf version, click on the chapter heading to jump to that chapter’s page. 

Chapter 1 – The Driver License 
1 B 
2 C 

3 D 
4 B 

5 A 
6 A 

7 B 
8 A 

9 B 
10 A 

11 B 
12 D 

13 C

Chapter 2 – Motor Vehicle Equipment 
1 D 
2 C

3 B 
4 D

5 A 
6 C

7 D 
8 B

9 D 
10 C 

Chapter 3 – Signs, Signals & Markings 
1 B 
2 D 
3 A 

4 D 
5 D 
6 C 

7 A 
8 D 
9 C 

10 B 
11 B 
12 A 

13 D 
14 C 
15 A 

16 B 
17 C 
18 B 

19 D 
20 C 
21 B

Chapter 4 – Driving Rules 
1 C 
2 B 
3 B 

4 D 
5 C 
6 C 

7 B 
8 D 
9 A 

10 A 
11 A 
12 C 

13 B 
14 D 
15 D 

16 C 
17 D 

Chapter 5 – Driving Safely 
1 A 
2 C 
3 C 

4 A 
5 B 
6 C 

7 C 
8 C 
9 D 

10 C 
11 A 
12 A 

13 C 
14 A 
15 C 

16 B 
17 C 
18 B 

19 A

Chapter 6 – Safe Driver Readiness 
1 B 
2 B 

3 A 
4 C 

5 A 
6 C 

7 D 
8 C 

9 B 
10 D 

Chapter 7 – Emergencies & Collisions  
1 D 
2 C 

3 C 
4 B 

5 D 
6 D 

7 A 
8 B 

9 D 
10 A 

11 B 
12 B 

13 D 
14 B

Chapter 8 – Driving Records & Penalties 
1 B 2 A 3 A 4 C 5 D 6 D 7 B 
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GLOSSARY 
Acceleration Lane—Extra lane that permits drivers entering an expressway to accelerate to the speed 
of expressway traffic. 

Accelerator—Gas pedal that controls the flow of fuel to the engine to regulate speed (stepping harder 
on the accelerator makes the car speed up). 

Adverse Driving Conditions—Driving when it is more difficult because of weather, light, ice, smoke, 
etc. Special precautions must be used. 

Alternator—Device that produces the electricity to recharge the battery and operate electrical 
equipment in a vehicle. 

Alternator Warning Light—Warning light or gauge on the instrument panel indicating the alternator is 
not making enough electricity and the battery is being used to run the vehicle. 

Angle Parking—Parking a car diagonally to the curb. 

Authorized Presence—Driver license applicants must prove that they are either a United States citizen 
or legally authorized to be in the United States with a certified birth certificate or passport and visa. 

Basic Speed Law—Law that states drivers should drive at a speed that is safe for traffic, roadway, 
visibility, and vehicle conditions. 

Battery—Electrical device used to start the car. The battery connections must be kept clean to assure 
that a car will start. 

Blind Spot—Area outside vehicle that side and rearview mirrors cannot show. 

Blood-Alcohol Concentration (BAC)—Percentage of alcohol found in the bloodstream as measured by 
chemical tests of blood or urine. 

Blood Test—A chemical test in which blood is taken from the driver’s finger to determine the amount 
of alcohol or drugs that are in the driver’s blood. 

Blowout—Sudden loss of tire air pressure while driving. 

Braking Distance—Distance traveled from the time the brakes are applied until the car is stopped. 

Breathalyzer Test—A chemical test in which a driver blows into a machine to determine the amount of 
alcohol that is in the driver’s body. 

Cancellation of Driver license—Driver license is taken away for giving false information on an 
application, paying for a license with a check when you don’t have money or when your parents 
withdrew their permission for you to drive. Driver needs to take the tests again. 

Carbon Monoxide—Colorless, odorless and poisonous gas in the exhaust fumes of motor vehicles. 

Class D License—A driver license that will allow a driver to drive a car, pickup truck, van, etc., and to 
pull a trailer that does not exceed 10,000 lbs. 

Clutch Pedal—Pedal in a manual shift car that enables a driver to shift gears. 

Collision—Contact between two or more objects, such as when two cars crash into each other. 
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Commercial Driver License (CDL)—A driver license that allows a driver to drive large truck and trailer 
combinations such as semis weighing in excess of 26,001 lbs., plus any car, truck or bus. 

Construction Area—Place where the road is being worked on. Drivers must watch out for workers and 
equipment. 

Controlled-Access Highway—Expressway that permits vehicles to enter or leave only at an 
interchange. 

Controlled Braking—Technique of applying the brakes to slow or stop quickly without locking the 
wheels. 

Coolant—Liquid that is put in radiator or coolant container to keep the engine cool while driving. 
Coolant can be water for summer driving or mixture of water and antifreeze to keep the engine from 
freezing in winter. 

Covering the Brake—Putting the foot just above the brake pedal, ready to apply pressure if needed. 

Crosswalk—Area designated for people on foot or in a wheelchair to cross a street or road. Crosswalks 
are usually marked with white lines crossing the street. Drivers must yield right of way to people 
crossing in crosswalks. 

Deceleration—slowing car down. 

Deceleration Lane—Extra lane that permits drivers leaving an expressway to slow down without 
obstructing traffic on the expressway. 

Deductible—Amount a policyholder pays for damages in a collision to reduce the cost of the premium. 
The insurance company then pays the balance of the cost up to a specified limit.  

Defensive Driving—Art of protecting yourself and others from dangerous and unexpected changes in 
the driving environment. 

Detour—A temporary road that is used to go around road construction. 

Diamond-Shaped Sign—Yellow or orange four-sided sign. Warning signs are diamond shaped. 

Distracted Driving—Doing any activity that takes attention away from driving, like using a cell phone. 

Downshifting—Shifting from a higher to a lower gear. 

Drive Belts—Black rubber devices used to power various types of electrical equipment in cars.  

Drive Gear—Used for typical driving when car is equipped with an automatic transmission.  

Driving Record—A folder that lists all traffic violations that a driver has committed in every state. It is 
used by the courts and by insurance companies. 

Driving Task—All the skilled actions a driver must take to drive safely. 

Driving Under the Influence (DUI)—Level of intoxication in which a driver’s blood-alcohol content is 
.08 percent and driving ability is reduced. A person may be charged with DUI if the test shows anything 
above .04 percent. 

Duplicate License—A replacement driver license that can be obtained if your license is lost. 

Emergency Flasher—Device that flashes front turn signal lights and tail lights to warn others there is a 
hazard. 

134  GLOSSARY       •      ADAPTED ILLUSTRATED MONTANA DRIVER MANUAL 

 



Emotion—Strong feeling of any kind, such as joy, grief, fear, hate, love, anger and excitement. 

Entrance Ramp—Ramp leading onto an expressway. 

Escape Path—Place to go in case of unexpected conflict. 

Exit Ramp—Ramp leading off an expressway. 

Expressway— A highway that has two or more lanes going each direction and where cars can get on or 
off only at designated places. Also known as freeway and interstate highway. 

Field of Vision—All the area that a person can see while looking straight ahead. 

Financial Responsibility—Obligation to pay for damages after a crash. 

Five-Sided Sign—Warn drivers about school zone where children may be. 

Flashing Signal—Red or yellow traffic light that flashes on and off to indicate stop (red) or caution 
(yellow). 

Four-Second Rule—A technique used to assure that a driver is far enough behind the vehicle he/she is 
following. 

Freeway—A highway that has two or more lanes going each direction and where cars can get on or off 
only at designated places. Also known as expressway or Interstate highway. 

Gas Pedal – Also called the Accelerator because when the pedal is pushed down it accelerates or 
moves the car forward or backward.  

Gap—Distance a driver has between approaching cars in which to cross an intersection or join traffic. 

Glare Recovery Time—Time required to regain clear vision after having been temporarily blinded by a 
strong light. 

Guide  Sign—A  sign  that  gives  direction,  distances,  services,  points  of  interest  and  other 
information. 

Habitual Offender—A driver who has had a number of serious driving offenses. After getting 30 
conviction points in three years, the driver could go to jail or pay a large fine. 

Hand-Over-Hand Steering—Method of turning the steering wheel in which one hand pulls the steering 
wheel down while the other hand crosses over to pull the wheel around. 

Hazardous Material—Dangerous materials such as gasoline, explosives, etc. Such material is frequently 
carried in tanker trucks. 

Head Restraints—Padded devices on the back of car seats that are designed to prevent the vehicle 
occupant’s head from snapping backward in a collision. 

Highway Hypnosis—Dulled or drowsy, trancelike condition caused by concentration on the roadway 
ahead and monotony of driving. 

Hydroplaning—Driving on a wet road when a vehicle moves on a thin film of water. Drivers can easily 
lose control of their vehicle when their car or truck is hydroplaning. 

Ignition Switch—Switch on the steering column, operated by a key, which starts or stops the engine. 

Identification—Documents including a certified birth certificate, social security card, passport and mail 
with your home address to verify who you are and where you live. 
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Implied Consent Law—State law providing that when a driver gets a license, that driver agrees to take 
a blood chemical test if arrested on suspicion of driving under the influence of alcohol or drugs.  

Intersection—Area where two or more streets or roads cross. Drivers must be especially careful at 
intersections because it may be difficult to see another vehicle coming from the side. 

Interstate Highway—A highway that has two or more lanes going each direction and where cars can 
get on or off only at designated places. Also known as freeway or expressway. 

Intoxicated—Under the influence of alcohol or drugs. Driving while intoxicated is a very dangerous and 
serious offense. 

Jack—Hand-operated device for lifting one corner of the car; generally used for changing a tire. 

Lane Signal—Signal, usually overhead, that designates whether a lane can or cannot be used at a 
specific time. 

Liability Insurance—Insurance coverage that pays for bodily injury and property damage to others in a 
collision caused by the insured. 

Manslaughter—Accidental killing caused while driving. 

Median Strip—Area that separates two-way traffic on a divided, multi-lane highway. 

Merging Area—Stretch of roadway at the end of an acceleration lane on an expressway where cars 
join the flow of traffic. 

Merging Traffic—Area where two roads or lanes join to go the same direction. 

Minimum Speed Limit—Lowest legal speed a car may travel on certain roadways under good 
conditions to prevent wide differences in speed among vehicles. 

Muffler—A device under the car to keep the car quiet. A leaky muffler can be noisy and dangerous 
because of poisonous fumes from the engine. 

Neutral Gear (N)—Used when car is not moving or when starting a car with a manual transmission. 

Night Blindness—Condition of not being able to see well at night. 

Notarize—A notary public at a bank or courthouse will certify your signature with a seal.  

Octagon-Shaped Sign—A sign with eight sides. The only octagon-shaped sign is a stop sign.  

One-Way Street—Street on which all cars must go the same direction. 

Overdriving head lights—Driving at a speed in which the stopping distance exceeds the area lit by the 
headlights. 

Over-The-Counter Drug (OTC Drug)—Drugs and medications that can be legally obtained without a 
doctor’s prescription. 

Parallel Parking—Parking with the car lined up parallel or going the same direction as the curb. When 
parallel parked, the car must be within 18 inches of the curb. 

Parking Gear (P)—Gear used when leaving a car to help assure that it does not roll away. 

Pedestrian—A person who is walking. Drivers must be especially careful of persons walking because 
they may be unpredictable. 
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Pedestrian Signal—Traffic signal or symbol for the use of pedestrians, usually reading WALK and DON’T 
WALK. 

Perception Distance—Distance a car travels during the time a driver sees and identifies an object or 
situation ahead. 

Perception Time—Time it takes a person to become aware of an object or situation ahead. 

Perpendicular Parking—Parking at a right angle to the curb. 

Point of No Return—Point beyond which a driver can no longer stop safely without entering the 
intersection. 

Policy—Contract or agreement between a vehicle owner and an insurance company specifying the 
amount and type of insurance coverage for which a premium is paid. 

Preventive Maintenance—Care given to a vehicle to keep mechanical problems from developing. 

Radiator—Part of the cooling system in which the coolant that circulates around the engine is cooled 
by a current of air. 

Reaction Distance—Distance the car travels during a driver’s reaction time. 

Reaction Time—Time it takes a driver to respond to a driving hazard once it has been identified. 

Reckless Driving—Driving a vehicle in a very careless manner and endangering the lives of others. 

Rectangle-Shaped Sign—Four-sided regulatory signs. These signs inform drivers of traffic laws and 
regulations.  

Reduce Speed Sign—Area where cars need to slow down because of some type of danger. 

Reflexes—Automatic response of body to signal it receives. 

Regulatory Sign—Sign that informs highway users of traffic laws or regulations and indicates 
requirements to perform in a certain manner. 

Reverse Gear (R)—Used when you want the car to go backwards. 

Revocation of Driver license—Removal of driver license for at least 12 months for serious motor 
vehicle violations such as manslaughter, DUI, crimes, etc. 

Riding the Brake—Driving with a foot on the brake pedal so that the brake lights remain on and the 
brakes are partially applied also known as trail braking. 

Riding the Clutch—Driving with the left foot resting lightly on the clutch pedal. 

Right of Way—The right of one vehicle to pass in front of another vehicle including rules about who 
can first cross an intersection. 

Right Turn on Red—Turning right after stop when the red signal is on unless prohibited to turn. 

Risk-Taking Behavior—Taking chances when the consequences can be dangerous. 

Round Signs—Warn about railroad crossings. 

Roundabout—Circular road around a center island with access to several roads heading out in 
different directions. Yield to traffic already driving in the roundabout, find a safe gap, enter the flow of 
traffic, signal and turn right onto the road you need. 
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Safe Path of Travel—Path that is free of hazards and conflict.  

School Crossing Guard—Person designated by the school to assist children across busy intersections. 
School crossing guards often wear orange vests to show drivers their jobs. When a crossing guard holds 
up a sign to stop, the driver must stop. 

School Zone—Portion of a street or highway near a school that is subject to special speed limits set by 
state law or local ordinance. 

Selector Lever—Device in an automatic transmission car used to select forward or reverse gears. 

Shift Indicator—Device on a car that shows the different driving gears and the one being used. 

Sight Distance—Distance a person can see ahead. 

Signaling—Showing other drivers what you plan to do by using special lights or arm movements. 

Space Cushion—Open area all around a vehicle consisting of adequate following distance between it 
and the cars ahead and behind, plus swerve paths to left and right. 

Suspension of driver license—The temporary withdrawal of a driver license for a serious driving 
offense (DUI, injury, crash, etc.) or other violations. The license can be suspended for 90 days, 6 
months or 12 months. 

Tailgating—Following a car too closely. 

Target—Where you aim to go. 

Total Stopping Distance—Total distance it takes to stop a vehicle. Total stopping distance includes 
perception distance, reaction distance and braking distance. 

Traction – Friction or gripping power between the tire and the roadway. 

Traffic Control Device—Any light, sign or pavement marking that is used to tell drivers what to do. 

Traffic Signal—Any signal or light used to control the movement of traffic. 

Tread—Grooved surface of a tire that grips the roadway. 

Triangle-Shaped Sign—Three-sided sign for yield right of way or no passing zone. 

Uncontrolled Intersection—Intersection without traffic control signals, signs or roadway markings to 
regulate traffic. 

Uncontrolled Railroad Crossing—Railroad crossing without signals or crossing gates. 

Urine Test—A chemical test that uses the driver’s urine to determine the amount of alcohol and type 
of drugs that are in the driver’s body. 

Vehicle Registration—A form that must be carried in your vehicle to prove who owns it, that it is 
licensed, and that vehicle taxes have been paid.  

Visibility—Being able to see objects that are in the driver’s path.  

Wanton—Lack of care for rights and safety of self and others, uncontrolled. 

Warranty—Written guarantee that the seller will repair the car for a stated period of time. 

Weaver—Person who moves their car back and forth between lanes. A weaver can cause crashes. 

Yield Right of Way—Allow another vehicle or roadway user to proceed first.
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INDEX 
Accelerating  76, 78 
Accidents  (see Crashes) 
Alcohol  5, 98, 102-104, 118, 125-127 
ABS Anti-lock brakes (ABS)  116 
Avoiding collisions 116-118 

Backing up  67, 78 
Being followed 81, 84 
Being passed 54 
Bicycles  31, 43, 58, 66, 92 
Blind pedestrians 61 
Blind spots 78, 86 
Blood Alcohol Concentration 104, 126 
Brakes  109, 116 
Breathalyzer Test 104, 126 
Bridge 32, 67, 88, 115, 130 

Cancelled license  127 
Cell phones  73, 93, 99, 131 
Child safety seat  21 
City driving  43, 93 
Commercial Driver License  3 
Conviction Points 127 
Crashes  3, 49, 59, 73, 101, 118-120 
Crosswalks  43, 61-62, 64, 79 
Cruise control  29, 83, 115 
Curb markings  44 
Curves  51, 82, 86, 88, 118 

Distracted driving  72-73, 99, 112,  
118, 131 
Disabled  44, 61, 130 
Do not park  43, 44, 67, 79 
Driver education  2, 4 
Driver license exams  4-6 
Driver license 2-9, 100, 104, 119-120 
Driving records  124-127 
Drowsy  19, 98, 101, 118  
Drugs  98, 102-103, 118, 125-126 
DUI  102-104, 125-127 

Emergencies  108-114 
Emergency vehicles  63 
Emotions  98, 105 
Engine 15, 19, 76, 108, 110-111, 113 

Financial Responsibility  3 
Fog  41, 83 
Following distance 84-85, 89-90, 118 
Funeral processions  63 

Gas pedal  76, 111 
GDL Graduated Driver License  5 

Hand signals  55, 80 
Headlights  16-17, 18, 110  
Health 105 
Hearing  100 
Highways  30, 32, 37, 44, 51-53, 
 81-92, 101, 115 
Hill parking  67, 130 
Horn  19, 61, 80, 100 
Hydroplaning  18, 83 

Icy roads  29, 83, 85, 115 
Impaired  73, 98, 102-103 
Implied consent  law 126 
Intersections  26, 58, 60-62, 74-75,  
82-83, 88 
Interstates (see Highways) 

Lanes  34-35, 41-43, 50, 52, 54 
Lane changes  86-87 
Lane weavers  87 
Law enforcement  7, 9, 87, 104,  
117, 120 
Learner License  2, 4, 74, 130 
Left turns  42, 57 
Liability insurance  2, 4, 9, 120 
License renewal  7 

Merging  34, 59, 89 
Motorcycles  8, 92-93 

“No Zone” 91 

Off-road recovery  112 
Overheating  15,  113 

Parallel parking  68 
Parking  67, 79 
Passing  30, 52-54, 87-88 
Pedestrians  40, 43, 62 
Passengers  5, 20, 49  

Railroad crossings  33 
Rain 83 
Reckless driving  127 
Regulatory signs  27, 35 
Reporting a crash 119 -120 
Revoked license  125 
Right turns  39, 56   

Right-of-way 60-66  
Road conditions  83 
Road construction 36, 82, 89 
Road markings  41-44 
Roundabouts  59  
Rumble strips  44 

Safety belts/seat belts  20-21 
Safety flags and lights  20 
Scanning 75 
School buses  64-65 
School safety zones  31, 64 
Semi-trucks  54, 91 
Signs 25-37 
Skids  112 
Slow-moving vehicles  20, 81 
Snow plow  115 
Snowy roads  115-116 
Speed  82, 84 
Speed limits  51, 81 
Steering 18, 72 
Starting a vehicle  19, 76 
Stop line  26 
Stopping  26, 85 
Summer driving  113 
Suspended license  125 

Tailgating 91 
Tail lights  16, 18 
Texting  73 
Tires 18, 83, 109 
Traffic signals 38 
Traffic violations 127         
Turning  39, 55-58 
Turn signals  80  

U-turn 42, 58 
Vehicle equipment 13-21 
Vehicle light distances 16, 18 
Vehicle registration  9 
Vision 4, 100 

Warning signs  27-34 
Wildlife 32, 117 
Winter driving  114 
Work zones  36 

Yield  25, 57-64
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Don’t drive distracted – keep your focus on the road! 


	Adapted Illustrated  Montana Driver Manual
	Table of Contents
	Introduction
	Arrive alive and be a safe driver—for life.

	Chapter 1 - The Driver License
	Getting a Driver License
	When a driver is under 18 years old,  who is financially responsible for  the cost of damages in a crash?
	TYPES OF DRIVER LICENSES
	Class D Basic Driver License
	Commercial Driver License

	REQUIRED Driver License TESTS
	DRIVER EXAM appointments
	Bring with you:
	using YOUR LICENSE
	renewing your license
	MotorcycleS
	Motorcycle Learner License
	Motorcycle Endorsement

	vehicle liability insurance
	Vehicle Registration and License Plates

	Chapter 1 Quiz – The Driver License

	The GDL Steps
	Use your head!
	Put a helmet on!
	Chapter 2 – Motor Vehicle Equipment
	PLANNING YOUR TRIP
	Save Gas and Resources
	checkING your vehicle

	Check OUTSIDE the vehicle:
	Check INSIDE the car — Use S.M.I.L.E.S. to remember
	Check your Dash when Starting and While Driving
	VEHICLE EQUIPMENT
	HEADLIGHTS must show persons and vehicles on the road ahead:


	Vehicle Light Distances
	Other Safety Equipment
	SEAT BELTs save lives

	Thousands of people would be alive today if they had remembered to buckle up.
	Montana law requires all people in a car to wear safety belts at all times, even if the car has air bags. Studies have shown that using seat belts greatly reduces your chances of being hurt or killed in a crash.
	Buckle Up is the law for kids, too

	Chapter 2 Quiz – Motor Vehicle Equipment

	Chapter 3 – Signs, Signals & Markings
	Know these Signs by Shape
	Know these Signs by Color
	Yellow and Black Warning Signs
	No Passing Zone Sign
	Truck and Intersection Ahead Warning Signs
	Pedestrian and Bicycle Signs
	School Zone Safety Signs
	Wildlife and Livestock Crossing Signs
	Bridge and Underpass Crossing Signs
	Railroad Crossings

	Merging Signs
	black & white Regulatory Signs
	Construction & WORK ZONE Signs
	Guide Signs
	Interstate Highway Signs
	TRAFFIC SIGNALS

	left arrow traffic SIGNALS
	PEDESTRIAN traffic signals
	ROAD Markings

	WHITE LANE MARKINGS
	Yellow Lane Markings
	Pedestrian Crosswalks
	bicycle Road MARKINGS
	Curb Markings
	Reserved Parking for People with Disabilities
	Rumble Strips

	Chapter 3 Quiz – Signs, Signals & Markings

	Chapter 4 – Driving Rules
	Driving rules make our roads safer for everyone.
	General Driving
	Some basic driving laws are:
	Before you drive, know the driving conditions …

	Speed Limits
	Passing rules

	Be patient and use the passing lanes!
	If you must pass on the highway:

	Approaching vehicles in your lane
	Being passed by other drivers
	TURNING rules
	How to turn at one-way and two-way streets
	Look
	Think
	Signal
	Communicate


	Right Turns
	To make a right turn:

	Left Turns
	To make a left turn:
	To make a left turn at a green traffic light:

	TURNING AROUND
	INTERSECTION rules
	ROUNDABOUTS
	RIGHT-OF-WAY rules

	Right of Way
	Who has the right of way at controlled intersections?
	Who has the right of way at uncontrolled intersections?

	Yielding to People who are blind or disabled
	YIELDING TO PEDESTRIANS
	These are the pedestrian traffic laws and safety rules:

	YIELDING TO EMERGENCY VEHICLES
	Yielding to Funeral Processions
	Yielding in SCHOOL ZONEs
	yielding to SCHOOL BUSES
	Red lights flashing?
	Stop AnD WAIT.
	Driving safely around school buses
	SHARING THE ROAD WITH Bicyclists

	Passing bicyclists safely
	PARKING rules

	No parking is ever allowed:
	how to Parallel Park
	Chapter 4 Quiz – Driving Rules

	Turning right on RED …
	Chapter 5 – Driving Safely
	DISTRACTED DRIVING

	Careless, reckless and impaired driving causes crashes.
	“I looked, but I didn’t see.”
	basic driving
	When you drive, you make many DRIVING DECISIONS.

	scanning and searching
	starting & accelerating
	Start the engine:
	Put the car in motion (accelerate):


	How to Steer
	Moving from a Stopped Position
	Leaving a parking space on the road:
	Backing up:

	STOPPING AND PARKING YOUR CAR
	Stopping and parking your vehicle:
	Stop only in a safe position.

	communicating

	Headlights
	Horn
	Using your turn signals
	controlling SPEED

	Highway Speed Limits
	Slow driving can be unsafe, too.
	OBEY speed SIGNS
	adjusting speed to DRIVING conditions
	Water on the Roadway
	Drive at a speed where you can always safely STOP.

	Following Distance
	Stopping Distance
	CHANGING LANES

	how to Change lanes:
	Using Left Lanes
	PASSING
	You MUST NOT pass any other vehicle  in your lane when you are driving in a No Passing Zone.



	Remember: SMOG
	Signal
	Mirrors
	Look Over the Shoulder
	Go
	Don’t take chances in the No Passing Zone.
	INTERSTATE highway driving
	Entering and merging onto the Interstate highway:
	Exiting the Interstate Highway

	If you have a tailgater…
	Don’t hang out in the No-Zone!
	MOTORCYCLE and bicycle SAFETY
	City driving

	Chapter 5 Quiz - Driving Safely

	Chapter 6 – Safe Driver Readiness
	Are you ready to drive? Or too impaired to drive?
	You are impaired:
	DISTRACTED DRIVING

	When you are distracted, you are impaired. ALWAYS keep your eyes on the road and your hands on the wheel.
	It can wait!  Hang up and drive.
	seeing well
	HEARING well
	Drowsy driving
	How do you know if you are too tired to drive?
	What should you do?

	Drugs and Alcohol
	Drinking and Driving
	Drive drunk or drugged and you may BE FINED,  GO TO JAIL and LOSE YOUR LICENSE.
	Alcohol and Montana Law
	The Breathalyzer Test

	HEALTH and emotions

	Some health problems can be dangerous.
	Chapter 6 Quiz – Safe Driver Readiness

	Chapter 7 – Emergencies & Collisions
	vehicle EMERGENCIES
	Brakes Fail
	Tire Blowout or Flat
	Headlights Stop Working
	Engine Quits
	Gas Pedal Sticks
	Engine on Fire
	Vehicle Skids or Fishtails
	Drift or Run Off the Road

	Summer Driving
	Winter Driving
	Respect Snow Plows – Drive Slow in Snow

	AVOIDING Collisions
	Stopping Fast
	Speeding Up
	Turning Quickly
	Watch for Wildlife

	why crashes happen
	Most crashes happen because of driver errors.
	What to do if you are in a crash:
	Reporting a Vehicle Crash
	The Crash Report Form
	Vehicle Liability Insurance is Required

	law Enforcement Stops
	Chapter 7 Quiz – Emergencies & Collisions

	Chapter 8 – Driving Record & Penalties
	Your Driving Record
	Traffic Violations and penalties
	License Suspension
	License Revocation
	License Cancellation
	Driving Under the Influence (DUI)  of Alcohol or Drugs
	The Alcohol Ignition Interlock Program
	Reckless Driving
	Habitual Traffic Offender Act

	Chapter 8 Quiz – Driver Records & Penalties
	TRUE STATEMENTS REVIEW

	The following are true statements to help you pass the knowledge test and get your learner permit.
	QUIZ ANSWER KEY
	GLOSSARY
	Acknowledgements
	FOR MORE INFORMATION, CONTACT:



	Drive Safely
	Follow the Rules of the Road
	KEEP YOUR DRIVING RECORD CLEAN!



