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  Montana’s GDL Graduated Driver License Law 
 

Montana's graduated driver license law creates a 
three-step program that reduces the risk while  
new drivers under age 18 develop and improve 
their driving skills. Teens still get to drive and 
gradually work up to driving on their own.  
 
All teens are at risk for crashes because they 
LACK DRIVING EXPERIENCE. This year, like every 
year, more than 5,000 teens will likely die on 
America's roads. Sixteen year olds are three 
times more likely to die in a car crash than other 
drivers.   

 
Traveling the roads and dealing with traffic is more complex than simply 
knowing the rules of the road and how to operate a vehicle. Driver education 
begins the process of learning to drive, but teens need many, many hours of 
practice to become safe, competent drivers.  
 
Montana's GDL aims to decrease teen crash risk by getting parents involved in 
helping their teens develop safe, responsible driving skills and attitudes.  First 
with supervised practice and then by avoiding high-risk conditions for at least 
the first year of driving alone. 
 
GDL Step One - Instruction Permit/Learner's License 
Requires 6 months and 50 hours of supervised driving practice with 
parent/legal guardian – 10 hours must be at night.  Seat belts required. 
GDL Step Two - GDL Restricted License – One Year 
Limits number of teen passengers and nighttime driving.  Seat belts required. 
Step Three - Full Privilege Driver's License 
After one year of GDL restrictions or age 18  
 
What is the Parent Role in Teen Driving? 

1. Enroll your teen in Montana Driver 
Education – check with your local high 
school 

2. Know Montana's GDL Laws 
www.doj.mt.gov/driving/driverlicensing.asp 

3. Supervise teen driving 
4. Set family driving rules and limits 
5. Impose consequences for violations 
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 GDL STEP ONE – INSTRUCTION PERMIT /LEARNER’S LICENSE 
 
Apply after Age 16  
Or  14 ½ - 15 year olds must be enrolled in or successfully complete a Montana approved 
Traffic Education Program.  Ask your local high school for their driver education schedule. 
 
Teens must pass the written driver exam, vision tests, and obtain parental consent to get their 
Instruction Permit/Learner's License. All new drivers under age 18 require a parent/legal 
guardian to sign the license application.  Whoever signs is responsible for any financial liability.  
 
CAR INSURANCE: Check with your car insurance agent to find out what kind of coverage is 
available while your teen is learning to drive and after your teen becomes a licensed driver.   
 

              WHO CAN SUPERVISE PRACTICE?  
TEP – Traffic Education Permit:  Students may drive only 
with driver education teacher during class. This begins the 
required six months of GDL supervised practice. 
 
TELL - Traffic Education Learner's License: A licensed 
parent/legal guardian or driver education teacher must 
drive with teens who have a TELL permit.   
  
Instruction Permit: If parents/legal guardians want their 

student to drive with other licensed adults during the GDL permit phase, students must obtain 
an Instruction Permit from the Driver Exam Office. 
 
Traffic Education Learner Licenses and Instruction Permits are valid for one year. 
 
HOW LONG:  Minimum of six months – longer if there are any traffic violations or any 
alcohol/drug offense.  Keep a log to record the time and different skills you practiced. 
 
PRACTICE DRIVING: Instruction Permits are valid for one year so teens should practice, 
practice, and practice.  It will take about two hours per week for six months to complete 50 
hours of practice driving. Only practice when you are both ready, in the mood and have plenty 
of time.  
 
In the beginning, practice in daylight and good weather. Limit passengers, it's best to practice 
with just you and your teen in the vehicle.  Start out in empty parking lots or low traffic roads 
to practice turning, parking, backing up and easing to a stop.  Use everyday trips if the route is 
appropriate for the student's skill level.  Supervise driving to sports practice, school and the 
grocery store to practice different skills including merging and changing lanes.   

 
Remember 3 things:  
1. Remain calm and focused – take deep breaths; 
2. Making mistakes is part of learning; and 
3. Practice driving is serious, but should also be interesting and engaging. 

 
GDL CONDITIONS 
 50 hours of supervised driving - 10 hours must be at night 
 Each occupant must wear a seat belt – If you are pulled over and you aren't wearing your 

seat belt, you can get a ticket and an extension to your GDL Restrictions.  
 Remain free from traffic violations and alcohol/drug offenses. 
 Supervision must be provided by a licensed parent/guardian in the front seat.  

(Note: If parents/guardians want their student to drive with other adults during the GDL permit 
phase, students must obtain an Instruction Permit from the Driver Exam Office.)  
 
Resources for Keeping Young Drivers Safe from Children's Hospital of Philadelphia  
http://www.chop.edu/consumer/jsp/division/generic.jsp?id=84822 
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GDL STEP TWO – GDL RESTRICTED LICENSE 
 

WHEN: Pass the Driving Test (This is where all that practice pays off) 
Get your GDL Restricted License to drive on your own after successful completion of GDL Step 
One - Instruction Permit, and parent/legal guardian certification of no alcohol/drug or traffic 
offenses for six months, and 50 hours of supervised driving.   
 

HOW LONG:  One year 
Teens need time to become familiar with driving without an 
adult. Restrict driving in the dark, not just late at night until 
your teen gains more experience with adverse conditions.  
 
Certain conditions are especially high risk for teen drivers 
including dusk/dark/nighttime driving, high speeds, 
passengers, adverse weather, traffic and road conditions. 
Supervise teenager’s driving under high-risk conditions to be 
sure that they are able to handle them before allowing 
independent driving under these conditions. Continue to drive 
with your teen even after they have their driver license.  
 

 

GDL CONDITIONS 
♦ Each occupant must wear a seat belt. 
♦ Teens may not drive between 11:00 p.m. and 5:00 a.m.  
The reason for this is simple.  As a young driver, your greatest risk 
of being involved in a fatal or injury crash is in the dark and at 
night.  Exceptions to night driving restrictions include emergencies, 
travel to and from school, church, or work and farm related 
activities.   
 
The risk of a fatal crash for a teen driver doubles with just one teen 
passenger. Each new passenger increases the risk of a fatal crash 
and car crashes are the leading killer of teens. 
 
GDL Passenger Restrictions 

♦ One Passenger - For the first six months teens may drive with only one passenger who is 
not a family member 

♦ Up to Three Passengers - For the second six months teens may drive with up to three 
passengers who are not family members  

 
STEP THREE – FULL PRIVILEGE DRIVER’S LICENSE 

 
WHEN:  Upon successful completion of GDL Steps One and Two 
or reaching age 18, whichever comes first.  
 
Like in sports and music -  competence, skill, judgment and 
good habits grow through experience. Parents should continue 
to monitor, drive with and impose consequences on teen driving 
even after teens have their full privilege driver's license. 
 
Remember to play it smart.  There are a lot of cars out there.             

         So drive safely – for life. 
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Consequences, Penalties and Conviction Points  
 

GDL Step One Violations - Penalty for any alcohol/drug or traffic offenses: 
Supervised practice driving extended until teen has six months with no alcohol/drug or 
traffic offenses 
 

GDL Step Two Violations - Penalty for any alcohol/drug or traffic offenses: 
First Offense – not less than 20 hours or more than 60 hours of community service; 
and 
Second Offense – suspension of driver’s license for six months. 

 

MIP - Minor in Possession of Alcohol  
Under 45-5-624 of the Montana Code Annotated, MIP convictions are not recorded on an 
individual's Montana driving record. However, a driver license suspension resulting from an MIP 
conviction is permanently recorded on the offender's driving record. 
 
Confiscation – A driver license confiscation is not the same as a suspension. Confiscation is 
between the violator and the court. If a person with a driver's license is convicted of an MIP 
violation, the court must confiscate the license: 

• first MIP offense – 30-day confiscation; and 
• second or subsequent MIP offense – six-month confiscation.  

A violator who drives during a period of driver license confiscation may be charged with driving 
without a license. A violator may also be subject to additional sentencing provisions imposed by 
the court. 
Suspension for failure to complete substance abuse course – Under Montana's MIP law, 
violators who fail to complete a community-based substance abuse course may have their 
driver's licenses suspended: 

• first failure to complete substance abuse course – three-month suspension;  
• second failure – nine-month suspension; and  
• third or subsequent failure – 12-month suspension.  
 

Remember – Your Driving Record is for Life.  Traffic convictions stay on your driving 
record permanently even if they occur in other states.   

Montana Driver Records 
Sample Conviction Points 

MCA 
61-11-203 

Montana Code 
Annotated 

(MCA) Title 61 
No driver’s license  2 points 61-5-102 
Speeding  3 points 61-8-303 
Other moving violations – Failure to obey stop signs and traffic 
signals, following too closely, improper passing  2 points 61-8-207 

61-8-320 to 340 
Car insurance violations 5 points 61-6-301 
Illegal drag racing                                   5 points 61-8-308 
Hit and Run (property)  4 points 61-7-107 
Reckless driving -driving with willful and wanton disregard for 
safety of persons and property     5 points 61-8-301 
Failure to stop and help or give information when involved in a 
crash 4 or 8 points 61-7-103 

61-7-105 
Driving with your license suspended or revoked 
Second offense penalty - vehicle may be seized  6 points 61-11-213 

61-5-212 
DUI - Driving while intoxicated or drugged with narcotics  10 points 61-8-401 
Other felony when a motor vehicle is used 12 points 61-11-203 
   
Seat belt Violation $20 fine 61-13-104 
Habitual Traffic Offender    
30 or more conviction points in 3 years 
License Revoked and No Driver license for 3 years  61-11-212 
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Most Montanan's drive safely and courteously - 97% follow the rules of the road.  
Half of the 3% who get traffic tickets, learn after their first ticket.  Only a few 
drivers, 1.5%, are repeat offenders taking risks which put themselves and other 
road users in danger.  Speeding tickets account for nearly 25% of all tickets.  
Even young drivers find their traffic tickets can add up to a revoked license if 
they have 30 conviction points within 3 years.  
  
 

Parent Tips for Trips 
Parents have a very important role to play in 
encouraging and ensuring safe teen driving. Your 
influence is stronger, more immediate and long 
lasting than all other influences.  Praise your teen 
when they use good judgment and obey the GDL.  
Talk with your teen about safe driving and being a 
safe passenger even before they get a Learner 
License.   
 
Be a role model and set a good example: 

 Always wear a seat belt as a driver and insist all 
passengers buckle up 

 Come to a complete stop at stop signs and signals - Look left, then right, then straight 
ahead and then left again before proceeding. 

 Keep a safe following and stopping distance – with at least a 4-second space between your 
vehicle and others 

 Obey the posted speed limit 
 Use your turn signal for changing lanes and when turning  
 Always check mirrors and turn your head to look for traffic and obstacles before turning the 

steering wheel. 
 Treat other drivers, pedestrians, bicyclists and roadway users with courtesy 
 Avoid distractions that take your attention from the road – ask a passenger to change the 

radio/CD, pull over to the side of the road to answer your cell phone or to remove an insect 
flying inside the car. 

 
Remember 3 things:  
1. Remain calm and focused – take deep breaths; 
2. Making mistakes is part of learning; and 
3. Practice driving is serious, but should also be 
interesting and engaging. 

 

Resources for Keeping Young Drivers Safe from 
Children's Hospital of Philadelphia  
http://www.chop.edu/consumer/jsp/division/generic.jsp?id=84822 
 

Set Family Driving Rules and Limits 
Teens can do what it takes to be a safe driver. Families need to make sure their 
teen has the knowledge and skills for safe driving and set rules and limits. 
Increase privileges as teens gain more driving experience and show safe, 
responsible driving behavior.  Parents control the car keys and the GDL 
restrictions limit passengers and night driving.  
 
Car handling and traffic mix are more complicated than when parents learned to 
drive. Certain conditions are especially high risk for teen drivers including 
dusk/dark/nighttime driving, high speeds, passengers, adverse weather, traffic, 
and road conditions.  
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Supervise teenager’s driving under high-risk conditions to be sure that 
they are able to handle them before allowing independent driving under 
these conditions. Continue to drive with your teen even after they have 
their driver's license. 
 
Families should set rules for driver safety and set consequences for 
violations of the rules.  Always know where your teen is going, who they 
will be with and when they will return. 
Make clear that teens are expected to: 
 

 Obey all traffic laws and signs including speed limits  
 Always wear a seat belt and require all passengers to buckle up 
 Never drive after any amount of alcohol or other drug use or 

ride with a driver who has used any amount of alcohol or other drugs. Even cold 
medicine and prescription drugs can affect your driving.  

 Never take unnecessary risks while driving, such as tailgating or cutting too sharply 
in front of other vehicles 

 Never perform risky driving behaviors 
 Reduce distractions while driving, such as playing around with passengers, changing  

the radio stations or CDs, eating or using a cell phone 
 Never drive when angry, upset, or overly tired. 

 
Talk with other parents of teen drivers.  Make clear your family's 
consequences for teens who violate safe driving rules. Discuss with 
your teen a Parent-Teen Driving Agreement and consequences 
which should relate to the loss of driving privileges.  For example: 
 
Curfew 
Your teen returns after curfew – "You broke the law and put 
yourself and others in danger.  You will not be driving for one 
week." 
 
Speed 
Your teen gets a speeding ticket – "You will not be driving until you pay for the ticket and the 
increased cost of your car insurance."  
 
Note: "Among the youngest and least experienced drivers, the leading cause of fatal crashes is 
driver error (77 percent), followed by speeding (38 percent) and alcohol (less than 25 percent). 
And when other teenagers are in the car, crashes are more likely to be fatal. (The overlap in 
percentages is explained by the fact that some crashes involve more than one factor.) 

 Insurance Institute for Highway Safety, Highway Loss Data Institute, “Fatality Facts: Teenagers,” 
 
Cell Phone 
Your teen talks, argues or sends text messages on the cell phone while driving –  
"A driver who talks on a cell phone is four times more likely to be involved in a serious crash. 
Your eyes and mind are off the road when using a cell phone.  It's hard to be aware of the 
changing road environment – other vehicles, hazards, traffic patterns, pedestrians.  
What do you think we should do?"  

- Trade the cell phone for the car keys so the phone stays at home; 
- Keep the cell phone on voice mail and in the back seat or trunk; and/or 
- Teen drives only with parent for a week or a month  

 
Parents can pull a teen's driver license if they are under age 18. (Parents don't need a specific 
reason and we're not kidding!)  

 
 
www.opi.mt.gov/gdl 


