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Licensing in Montana

KEEPING
YOUR TEEN
DRIVER
SAFE

1 - LEARNER’S LICENSE

WHEN: Starts with the Learner License obtained in a state-approved driver education program as early as age
14 or with a Learner License without driver education as early as age 16. A licensed parent/guardian must
supervise teens driving with a Learner License. A teen driver with a learner license from the driver exam station
may drive with other licensed adults who are authorized by a parent/guardian.

HOW LONG: One year — minimum of six months. Supervised driving is for a minimum of six months and
50 hours - 10 hours must be at night. Practice in varied weather, traffic, and road conditions.

CONDITIONS: Seat belts required: each occupant must wear a seat belt. The driver must remain free from
traffic violations and alcohol/drug offenses.

2 - GDL RESTRICTED LICENSE

WHEN: Teens may apply to drive independently after successful completion of Step 1, with parent/guardian
certification of 50 hours of supervised driving practice, and no traffic violations and alcohol/drug offenses.

HOW LONG: One year or when driver reaches age 18.
CONDITIONS: Seat belts required: each occupant must wear a seat belt.

Curfew: Darkness increases crash risk, so night driving is restricted. Not allowed to drive between 11:00 p.m.
and 5:00 a.m., unless travel is for school, church, work, or farm-related activities.

Limit passengers: For the first six months may have only one passenger; for the second six months may have
up to three passengers. More allowed if they are family members or supervised by a licensed adult driver.

Penalties for violating the GDL law: First Offense — not less than 20 hours or more than 60 hours of community service.
Second Offense - suspension of restricted driver's license for six months.

3 - FULL PRIVILEGE DRIVER’S LICENSE

WHEN: Upon successful completion of Steps 1 and 2 or when driver reaches age 18, whichever comes first.

Montana's GRADUATED DRIVER LICENSING (GDL) law (MCA 61.5.132-135) is a three-step program that
reduces the risk while new drivers under age 18 develop and improve their driving skills. Teens still get to
drive—with supervision—and gradually gain experience to begin driving on their own, but with restrictions on
night driving and passengers. Young drivers face the highest crash risk in darkness and each teen passenger
doubles the crash risk. Safety research is clear that newly licensed drivers should start driving with no young
passengers.

Learning to drive is a complex, ongoing process that requires responsibility and thousands of miles of
practice to develop competence, skill, and judgment. Just like with sports and music, good habits and abilities
grow through experience and good coaching. After teens have their full privilege license, parents should
continue to drive with their teen, monitor, model, and enforce the rules, and encourage safe driving habits.

bt MOntana . . For more GDL information and resources, visit www.opi.mt.gov
A Office of Public Instruction or call the Traffic Education Office at (406) 444-4432.

Elsie Amtzen, Superintendent January 2017




PRACTICE DRIVING LOG

Use this log to track your teen’s 50 hours of practice driving (including 10 hours at
night) OR consider using a mobile application log, such as “RoadReady” for I0S devices

or “Fast Track Driving Log Free” for Android devices.

This Driving Log belongs to:

Date Conditions & Skills Amount | Initials Date Conditions & Skills Amount | Initials
EX: intersections, full of Time EX: intersections, full of Time
stops, yields, scanning stops, yields, scanning
for hazards for hazards
TOTAL TIME
X
Parent/Guardian
X

Teen Driver


http://www.roadreadyapp.com/
https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?id=com.lonecoder.fasttrackfree&hl=en
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