Office of the Superintendent

Juneau announces 2011-2012 Student Advisory Board members

Monday, October 31, 2011, 5:20 pm
Superintendent Juneau is pleased to announce that 21 new students will join her Student Advisory Board this fall.

Student advisory board members were first nominated by local schools and community members and also had to apply for selection to the board. Juneau received more than 70 applications from 51 communities across the state. The board members, in grades 9–12, come from rural communities such as Wibaux and Alberton and from larger communities such as Billings and Missoula. They represent the diverse range of experiences and backgrounds of Montana students.

The first meeting of the 2011-2012 Student Advisory Board will be held Nov. 9 and 10 in Helena.

The board consists of 40 high school students from 30 Montana schools. The Student Advisory Board is part of Juneau’s statewide initiative, Graduation Matters Montana. Graduation Matters Montana aims to increase the number of students who graduate from high school and to ensure students graduate college and career-ready through collaborative partnerships with schools, community organizations, businesses and youth. A list of the 2011-2012 Student Advisory Board members can be found at

Thank you to the school principals, counselors and staff, as well as community members across the state, for nominating such exemplary students.

For more information, contact Thea Whalen, 46-444-5643