Office of the Superintendent

Blue Ribbon Schools

Monday, January 3, 2011, 5:12 pm

Superintendent Juneau was proud to announce the three Montana schools nominated for the 2011 National Blue Ribbon Schools Award.

The schools selected are Cold Springs School in Missoula, Plentywood School in Plentywood, and Russell Elementary School in Missoula.


The Blue Ribbon Schools program honors elementary and secondary schools that made significant progress in closing the achievement gap or whose students achieve at very high levels. Schools are selected by meeting either of two criteria:

1. Schools whose students, regardless of backgrounds, are in the top 10 percent of schools in the state as measured by state tests.

2. Schools with at least 40 percent of their students from disadvantaged backgrounds that close the achievement gap, improving student performance to high levels.


National Blue Ribbon School Awards will be announced in September of next year.

For more information, contact Allyson Hagen, 444-3160