Superintendent Juneau to present John Fleming with 21st Montana Statehood Centen

Friday, November 5, 2010
By Faith Moldan

Monday November 8, 2010 not only marks the 121st anniversary of Montana’s statehood, but is also a special day for St. Ignatius Middle School teacher John Fleming. Superintendent of Public Instruction Denise Juneau will present Fleming with a $1,000 check and a plaque to go along with the honor of being this year’s Montana History Teacher of the Year.


“John has a long history of excellent teaching and has shown continued dedication to his students and their success throughout the years,” Juneau said. “The hands-on, interactive approach he takes with his students, specifically with The Tour of Montana field trip each year, is proof of why John is an outstanding and effective teacher.”


A Montana native, Fleming has taught in the St. Ignatius public schools for 36 years. He started The Tour of Montana field trip in 1995, which includes places in Montana students might only read about in a book otherwise. The student journey out of the classroom and into historical and geographical sites of the state has been fine tuned over the past 15 years and includes other academic areas such as arts, geology, and math.


Who: Denise Juneau, Superintendent of Public Instruction and John Fleming, Montana’s History Teacher of the Year

What: 21st Montana Statehood Centennial Bell Award Ceremony

When: November 8, 2010 10:00 – 10:45 a.m.

Where: Montana State Capitol – east side balcony overlooking rotunda


Fleming’s eighth-grade students and some of the students’ parents will make the trip to Helena as well. The students will join their teacher in ringing the Montana Statehood Centennial Bell for 60 seconds at exactly 10:40 a.m. – the precise moment the proclamation announcing Montana’s admission to the Union was issued.


Also in attendance will be Lieutenant Governor John Bohlinger, Bill O’Keefe and the Sons and Daughters of Montana Pioneers, St. Ignatius Middle School principal Jason Sargent and the Salish Kootenai Native American Studies Drum Group. O’Keefe will present Fleming with a $250 check.


The award is given on even numbered years to a 7th-8th grade Montana history teacher, and to 4th-5th grade Montana history teachers on odd numbered years. Montana News Stations KRTV, Great Falls; KXLF, Butte; KPAX, Missoula; and KTVQ, Billings; and the Sons and Daughters of Montana Pioneers sponsor this program in cooperation with the Office of Public Instruction.




Back to Media Center Home Page