Jule Walker headshotJule Walker is serving as the Deputy State Superintendent.

Jule is a professional educator with more than 30 years of experience. She pursued a Bachelor's Degree in Business Education from Montana State University-Billings. She then taught 10.5 years in California, receiving her Masters Degree in Educational Administration from the University of La Verne in La Verne, CA. Upon returning to Montana, Walker served 21 years as a superintendent in the Plevna School District. During her tenure as a superintendent, she has served on numerous committees and boards, as well as received several awards. Walker has served on the MREA Board, on the MUST Board, as the SEMASS President, the MHSA Resolution Committee Chairman, the K-12 Vision group, the MASS President, SAM President, and the AASA Executive Board.

Contact Jule, 406-444-7325.


Jason Butcher-Headshot637147038669965444

Jason Butcher is serving as the Assistant Deputy Superintendent


Jason is a long-time Montana educator and superintendent. He has a Bachelor's Degree in Health Enhancement from MSU-B and a Master's Degree in Educational Leadership. He has 25 years of experience as a teacher, coach, activities director, assistant principal, principal, and superintendent in Montana schools. He spent the last nine years of his career as the Superintendent of Schools in Lewistown.  Butcher was twice named the Central Montana Administrator of the Year, and was honored to receive the state of Montana Superintendent of the Year award in 2012.  He has also served on the Central Montana Learning Resource Cooperative Center as the board chair, served on the K-12 Vision group and the SAM Board, and was elected and served as the MASS President.

Contact Jason, 406-444-3449


Dylan Klapmeier headshotDylan Klapmeier is serving as the Director of Communications and Federal Relations.

Dylan has undergraduate degrees in Political Science and Latin American Studies from the University of Montana, and a Master of Public Administration Degree from the University of Montana Graduate School. Prior to joining the Office of Public Instruction, Dylan worked in Missoula as a field representative, constituent caseworker, and education liaison for U.S. Senator Steve Daines. He is originally from Forsyth, Montana.

Contact Dylan, 406-444-3559.

Image of Phoebe WilliamsPhoebe Williams is serving as the Executive Office Administrator.

Phoebe has a Bachelor's Degree in Public Administration from Montana State University and has a diverse professional background in office management. She has over 20 years of experience working in state agencies and private businesses in the Helena-area.

Contact Phoebe, 406-444-3160.


Image of Julia SwingleyJulia Swingley is serving as Chief Legal Counsel

Julia W. Swingley was previously in private practice for the last eleven years, primarily as a litigator practicing insurance defense, commercial collection and family law. Ms. Swingley has presented courses on civil practice, collection law and family law to attorneys at continuing legal education (CLE) conferences and to professional associations. Ms. Swingley’s civil litigation experience also includes a clerkship with District Court Judge Honzel, serving as a deputy county attorney in both Lewis and Clark and Jefferson Counties, working as an Assistant Attorney General with the Montana Department of Labor, working as an associate for the insurance defense firm of Drake Law Firm, and managing the law firm of Hull & Swingley.  Ms. Swingley was raised in Helena, earned her B.A. from Oberlin College, Ohio and her J.D. from the University of Montana School of Law in 1997. 

Contact Julia, 406-444-4399


Virginia Díaz is serving as the Administrative Clerk for the Superintendent's Office.

Virginia has a diverse professional background in administrative support and project management for both public agencies and private businesses, including post-secondary education institutions. 

Contact Virginia, 406-444-5643.

Patrick Beddow headshotPatrick H. Beddow Senior is serving as the Superintendent's Land Board Advisor.

Patrick is a consultant minerals landman from Billings and has been involved with oil, gas, hard minerals, coal and land-title related issues for over 38 years. Using his decades of industry expertise, he advises Superintendent Arntzen in her capacity as Vice-Chair of the Montana Board of Land Commissioners.

Contact Patrick.